Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 11:27:12

Sponsor 743
May 23
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: American Crate All-Star Series (Memorial Day Mayhem) - $3,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen of InsideDirtRacing.com (last updated May 24, 1:19 pm)
Weaver tops Hedgecock, wins at Smoky Mountain
Memorial Day Mayhem
  1. Randy Weaver
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Eli Beets
  4. Trevor Sise
  5. Jake Teague
  6. Logan Roberson
  7. Ross White
  8. Dillon Brown
  9. Brett Wyatt
  10. Nick Schlager
  11. Cameron Weaver
  12. Tyler Arrington
  13. Jensen Ford
  14. Colton Profitt
  15. Terry Poore
  16. Clay Coghlan
  17. Bradley Lewelling
  18. Zach Sise
  19. Chris Chandler
  20. Adam Ahl
  21. Michael Bland
  22. Drew Kennedy
  23. Rusty Ballenger
  24. Aaron Guinn
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Randy Weaver (116) overtakes leader Cory Hedgecock (23).
What won the race: Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., used a mid-race slider to get by race leader Cory Hedgecock and march on to a $3,000 victory in Saturday night's 35-lap Memorial Day Mayhem feature for the American Crate All-Star Series at Smoky Mountain Speedway. The veteran driver beat Hedgecock to the finish line.
Key notes: After Hedgecock built a straightaway lead over Weaver early in the feature, Weaver used a higher line around the half-mile oval to run down the pacesetter. Weaver made his winning move on lap 19, executing a classic slider through turns three and four to assume for good. ... The leaders experienced a tense moment on lap 10 when Weaver's bid for the top spot pinned Hedgecock behind the lapped car of Rusty Ballenger; contact with Hedgecock sent Ballenger spinning on the backstretch to bring out a caution flag. ... Hedgecock fell short of sweeping the program; he won the companion Topless Outlaws Series opener. ... Justin Smith turned the fastest lap in qualifying but his time was disallowed after his car weighed in light.
Winner's sponsors: Weaver's Scott Romines-owned CVR Race Car is sponsored by Rock Solid Poured Walls, White Star Market & Deli, C&C Steam Cleaners and Harrison.
Points chase: The event opened the tour's 2020 season.
Current weather: Overcast, 82°F
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Cory Hedgecock
Time: 16.886 seconds
Dash winner: Cory Hedgecock
Heat race winners: Dillon Brown, Clay Coghlan, Jake Teague, Ross White
Consolation race winners: Drew Kennedy, Logan Roberson
Next series race: May 24, Crossville Speedway (Crossville, TN) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728