Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/24/2024 05:43:15

Sponsor 743
April 30
Tri-County Racetrack,
Brasstown, NC
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Schaeffer Oil Tar Heel Invitational ) - $4,000
Information provided by: Robert Holman (last updated May 2, 7:51 am)
Clanton repels McIntosh, wins Tri-County's $4,000
Schaeffer Oil Tar Heel Invitational
  1. Shane Clanton
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. David Payne
  4. Casey Roberts
  5. Brandon Overton
  6. Tyler Erb
  7. Kenny Collins
  8. Shanon Buckingham
  9. Michael Chilton
  10. Ashton Winger
  11. Tyler Millwood
  12. Cody King
  13. Pearson Lee Williams
  14. Hudson O'Neal
  15. Kyle Hardy
  16. Jamie Oliver
  17. Joe Denby
  18. Shawn Chastain
  19. Cla Knight
  20. Jadon Frame
presented by
Brian McLeod/Dirt Scenes
Shane Clanton in victory lane at Tri-County Racetrack.
What won the race: Polesitter Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., repelled a late-race challenge from fellow Peach State driver Donald McIntosh for a $4,000 victory in the Schaeffer Oil Tar Heel Invitational 40 presented by PitStopUSA.com as drivers eased back into action amid the coronavirus pandemic.
Quotable: “On long runs, we got a little loose getting into the corner there and Donald actually passed me there and the caution came out,” said winner Shane Clanton, who officially led every lap. “I changed my line a little bit getting into turn one and it helped a little bit. We’ve still got some work to do, but we’ve been working hard the past couple of weeks and we’ll go from here."
Key notes: Clanton won his previous Tri-County trip March 16, 2018, in Schaeffer's Spring Nationals competition. ... Bonuses of $21,500, including $10,000 from Iowa's Karl Chevrolet, were posted if any of the top four starters elected to start on the tail and won; Michael Chilton took a crack at it and while he never got into contention and ended up ninth, he picked up $2,220 in bonuses from folks honoring him for making the bid. ... Runner-up Donald McIntosh briefly grabbed the lead on lap 31, but when Hudson O'Neal, David Payne and Kyle Hardy tangled in turn two, officials reset the field with Clanton out front. ... O'Neal was right in the mix moments before. ... Local standout David Payne finished a solid third. ... No spectators were allowed in the grandstands and teams followed social distancing protocols.
On the move: Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., started 14th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Clanton’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Skyline Materials, Bennett Explosives, Super K Express, Lucas Products, Truck County, BRP Inc., Freeman Plumbing, Hoosier Tire South and VP Racing Fuels.
Current weather: Cloudy, 49°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Kyle Hardy
Time: 12.369 seconds
Polesitter: Shane Clanton
Dash winner: Shane Clanton
Heat race winners: Hudson O'Neal, Shanon Buckingham
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

BRASSTOWN, N.C. — Roster, schedule and brief results for Thursday’s Schaeffer Oil Tar Heel Invitational 50 presented by PitStopUSA.com at Tri-County Racetrack (results unofficial; click for live video):


Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., survived a late-race challenge from fellow Peach State driver Donald McIntosh for a $4,000 victory in the Schaeffer Oil Tar Heel Invitational presented by PitStopUSA.com.

Preliminary results

Dash (sets first three rows of feature): Shane Clanton, Donald McIntosh, Michael Chilton, Cody King, Kyle Hardy, David Payne.

First heat: Hudson O'Neal, Casey Roberts, Ashton Winger, Shawn Chastain, Tyler Millwood, Cla Knight, Jadon Frame, Robby Moses, Joey Standridge.

Second heat: Shanon Buckingham, Tyler Erb, Kenny Collins, Brandon Overton, Pearson Lee Williams, Jamie Oliver, Joe Denby.

Time trials

  1. Kyle Hardy (79), Stephens City, Va., 12.369
  2. David Payne (8), Murphy, N.C., 12.600
  3. Shane Clanton (25), Zebulon, Ga., 12.624
  4. Cody King (62), McDonough, Ga., 12.666
  5. Michael Chilton (97), Salvisa, Ky., 12.701
  6. Donald Mcintosh (7M), Dawsonville, Ga., 12.720
  7. Casey Roberts (101), Toccoa, Ga., 12.749
  8. Kenny Collins (1C), Colbert, Ga., 12.782
  9. Hudson O’Neal (71), Martinsville, Ind., 12.789
  10. Shanon Buckingham (50), Morristown, Tenn., 12.836
  11. Tyler Millwood (31), Kingston, Ga., 12.854
  12. Tyler Erb (1), New Waverly, Texas, 12.865
  13. Ashton Winger (12), Hampton, Ga., 12.890
  14. Jamie Oliver (38), Murphy, N.C., 12.926
  15. Shawn Chastain (X15), Murphy, N.C., 12.947
  16. Brandon Overton (76), Evans, Ga., 12.950
  17. Cla Knight (42), North Augusta, S.C., 13.031
  18. Pearson Lee Williams (2), Dublin, Ga., 13.064
  19. Jadon Frame (J8), Decherd, Tenn., 13.077
  20. Payton Freeman (F1), Commerce, Ga., 13.161
  21. Robby Moses (21), Maryville, Tenn., 13.277
  22. Joe Denby (27), Tullahoma, Tenn., 13.374
  23. Joey Standridge (56), Tellico Plains, Tenn., 13.412
  24. Glenn Barnett (34), Murphy, N.C., 13.550
  25. Danny Ledford (4), Warne, N.C., no time

Top four bonus program

(Bonuses posted if any of the first- and second-row starters elect to start on the tail and win; including winner's purse, a victory from the tail for those four drivers would've paid $25,500)

$10,000 - Karl Chevrolet
$2,500 - David Wells
$2,500 - Smoky Mountain Speedway
$2,000 - Michael Rigsby
$1,000 - Chris Tilley
$1,000 - Budda Bert Transmission
$1,000 - Burwell Motorsports
$500 - Kentucky Auto Service
$500 - Regional Disposal and Metal
$500 - All Makes Collision Center

Bonus for Chilton

($2,220 in bonuses posted for folks congratulating Michael Chilton for being the only driver to accept the top four bonus)

$500 - JAY Construction and Restoration
$500 - Michael Rigsby
$200 - Jeff Babcock/Industrial Resourcing Group
$100 - Matt Long
$100 - Andy Savary
$100 - Envy Suspension
$100 - Budda Bert Transmission
$100 - Craig Lindsay
$100 - American Crate Allstars/Joe Rush
$100 - Matt Devr/Suave Nationals
$100 - Joey Reynolds Trucking
$100 - Minon Construction
$100 - Dan Bakle
$100 - Trevor Gonzales

Thursday’s schedule

(All time EDT)
7:20 - Keyser Mfg. prerace show
7:40 p.m. - Hot laps
8 p.m. - Time trials
8:25 p.m. - Opening ceremonies
8:30 p.m. - Six-lap dash (six transfer)
8:35 p.m. - Two 10-lap heat races (seven transfer)
9:15 p.m. - 40-lap main event

Feature lineup

Row 1: Clanton, McIntosh
Row 2: Chilton, King
Row 3: Hardy, Payne
Row 4: O'Neal, Buckingham
Row 5: Roberts, Erb
Row 6: Winger, Collins
Row 7: Chastain, Overton
Row 8: Millwood, Williams
Row 9: Knight, Oliver
Row 10: Frame, Denby

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information