Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 10:17:04

Sponsor 743
March 1
Clarksville Speedway,
Clarksville, TN
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Tuckassee Toilet Bowl Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 2, 8:21 am)
Shirley pockets $3,000 Clarksville MARS opener
Tuckassee Toilet Bowl Classic
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Allen Weisser
  3. Josh Putnam
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. David Seibers
  6. Jose Parga
  7. Mike Vandermark
  8. Christian Hanger
  9. Richard Frost
  10. Caleb Ashby
  11. Matt Shannon
  12. Dean Carpenter
  13. Joseph Faulkner
  14. Drew Wilkerson
  15. Robby Moses
  16. Oakley Johns
  17. Joey Standridge
  18. Larry Barber Jr.
  19. Gavin Schmidt
  20. Roben Huffman
  21. Myles Moos
  22. Levi Ashby
  23. Dewayne Kiefer
presented by
Brian Shirley zips arounds the quarter-mile Clarksville Speedway.
What won the race: Navigating his way through lapped traffic late, Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., outran polesitter Allen Weisser in the opening night of the 15th annual Tuckassee Toilet Bowl Classic at Clarksville Speedway to pick up the $3,000 payday. Topping Weisser by 1.801 seconds, Shirley captured his first win of the season in the 30-lap affair sanctioned by the MARS and Iron-Man tours.
Quotable: "The racetrack there was a little bit bottom dominant, but we were pretty good," Shirley said. "I knew when we took off, it felt like the car was pretty good. So I was trying to be patient. I knew what was going to help was lapped traffic. I felt like if lapped traffic slowed down enough, we might be able to roll them on the outside."
Key notes: Shirley's decision to slide up to the highside late paid off as he passed leader Robby Moses on lap-25. ... Weisser won the 20-lap UMP Modified feature. ... The 15th annual Tuckassee Toilet Bowl Classic wraps up on Saturday with the main event paying $5,000 to the winner. ... Both events are co-sanctioned by the Schaeffer's MARS Racing Series and Iron-Man Championship Series. ... David Seibers of Chapel Hill, Tenn., was the winner of last year's Toilet Bowl opener, with Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., capturing the finale. Erb has scored a MARS victory at Clarksville for three straight seasons. ... Crate Late Models and UMP modifieds are among other divisions that will be in action.
On the move: Jose Parga of New Berlin, Ill., started 12th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Bob Cullen Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Thomason Express, Cheap Cars, KBX Graphix, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, Skateland South, Jayco Construction, Kim's Autobody, Vallejo and Popejoy.x.
Points chase: Points chases for MARS and Iron-Man tours begin at Clarksville.
Current weather: Cloudy with Mist and Fog, 38°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Josh Putnam
Time: 12.721 seconds
Polesitter: Allen Weisser
Next series race: March 2, Clarksville Speedway (Clarksville, TN) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Weisser, Putnam
Row 2: Moses, Erb
Row 3: Shirley, Seibers
Row 4: Moos, Hanger
Row 5: Frost, Vandermark
Row 6: C. Ashby, Parga
Row 7: Johns, Shannon
Row 8: Faulkner, L. Ashby
Row 9: Carpenter, Standridge
Row 10: Wilkerson, Schmidt
Row 11: Kiefer, Barber Jr.
Row 12: Huffman, Turman

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information