Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/31/2023 16:43:51

Sponsor 743
November 25
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Possum Town Grand Prix) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated November 29, 8:22 am)
Lanigan takes Possum Town Grand Prix at Magnolia
Possum Town Grand Prix
  1. Darrell Lanigan
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Evan Ellis
  4. Jamey Boland
  5. Walker Arthur
  6. Colton Horner
  7. Matt Henderson
  8. Grant Pearl
  9. Cale Finley
  10. Spencer Hughes
  11. Steve Russell
  12. Marcus Minga
  13. Andy Picklesimer
  14. T.J. Brittain
  15. Grant Garrison
  16. Chad Thrash
  17. Kelly Schryock
  18. Rodney Martin
  19. Neil Baggett
  20. Scott Dedwylder
  21. Jeremy Shaw
  22. Chip Brindle
  23. Cory Hedgecock
  24. Jake Knowles
presented by
Scott Oglesby/foto-1.net
Darrell Lanigan won his first-ever feature start in Crate Late Models.
What won the race: Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., raced off the pole position to lead all 100 laps of Saturday's NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series-sanctioned Possum Town Grand Prix for a victory worth $10,000. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regular crossed the finish line 0.913 of a second ahead of Ronnie Johnson, surviving a lap-99 slip that allowed the runner-up a final shot at victory.
Quotable: "I came down here last year with (NeSmith tour Rookie of the Year and overall runner-up) Grant Garrison, and this year, we built him a new car for next year, so I said I'd come down and try it out," winner Darrell Lanigan said. "We sold this car yesterday, so we'll go back to the shop and build him another one. This place is awesome. This is the reason we came back down here to race. The Golden Helmet NeSmith trophy is pretty different, so that will have a place in my trophy case back in Union."
Key notes: The victory was Lanigan's first-ever on the NeSmith Crate tour, which capped its 2017 season with the annual Thanksgiving weekend event. ... The 12th Possum Town Grand Prix offered a five-figure winner's purse for the second straight season. ... Lanigan, who recently won Cherokee Speedway's Blue-Gray 100 on Nov. 19, scored his seventh victory of the season paying $10,000 or more. ... Six cautions slowed the feature and 10 drivers completed 100 laps.
On the move: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., started 11th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Club 29 Race Car has a Hendren Racing Engine and is sponsored by Darrell Lanigan Racing, Lanigan Construction, Got-A-Go, Michael Verst Construction, Burr Travis Racing Stables, Shakey's Pub & Grub, Hickerson & Tranter Appraisal Services, Penske Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire and X-treme Graphics.
Points chase: Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., is the NeSmith champion for the second straight year.
Car count: 62
Fast qualifier: Darrell Lanigan
Time: 14.321 seconds
Polesitter: Darrell Lanigan
Heat race winners: Darrell Lanigan, Scott Dedwylder, Rodney Martin, Jamey Boland, Evan Ellis, Grant Pearl
Consolation race winners: Marcus Minga, Colton Horner
Provisional starters: T.J. Brittain, Andy Picklesimer
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Lanigan, Dedwylder
Row 2: Martin, Boland
Row 3: Ellis, Pearl
Row 4: Henderson, Baggett
Row 5: Garrison, Hughes
Row 6: Johnson, Finley
Row 7: Arthur, Knowles
Row 8: Thrash, J. Shaw
Row 9: Hedgecock, Russell
Row 10: Minga, Schryock
Row 11: Horner, Brindle
Row 12: Brittain, Picklesimer

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information