Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 04:51:26

Sponsor 743
March 3
Clarksville Speedway,
Clarksville, TN
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Toilet Bowl Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and staff reports (last updated March 6, 11:09 am)
Sanders lands first, grabs $3,000 MARS opener
Toilet Bowl Classic
  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Terry English
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Kent Robinson
  5. Cody Mahoney
  6. Austin Rettig
  7. Tanner English
  8. Clayton Miller
  9. Joe Godsey
  10. Scott Crigler
  11. Josh Putnam
  12. Justin Asplin
  13. Adam Bowman
  14. Payton Looney
  15. Raymond Merrill
  16. Bob Gardner
  17. Gordy Gundaker
  18. Caleb Ashby
  19. Shannon Scott
  20. Larry Greer
  21. Dennis Erb Jr.
  22. Richard Frost
  23. Jeff Roth
  24. Randy Roth
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Rodney Sanders celebrates his $3,000 MARS victory with his team at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway.
What won the race: Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, led all 30 laps, running down around the hub the entire way in winning ahead of Terry English of Benton, Ky., by 1.109 seconds.
Quotable: "We had a good car. That really helped. We had a good car and track position," said Sanders. "I knew I was bottled up so bad that they had to be right there. I was just trying not to get off that bottom. Lapped traffic was pretty hairy."
Key notes: The feature was slowed by two caution periods: a lap-14 yellow and a red flag on lap 15 when Jeff Roth rolled over in turn three; Roth was OK. ... Sanders notched his second career MARS victory. ... Sanders caught lapped traffic with five laps to go, but stuck to the bottom of the track and was never challenged. ... Sanders passed overall fast qualifier Kent Robinson on lap three of their heat race and went on to win the prelim. After winning the heat, Sanders drew a No. 1 to earn the pole for the feature. ... Track champion Caleb Ashby of Cunningham, Tenn., finished 18th, the last car on the lead lap. ... Dennis Erb Jr., of Carpentersville, Ill., retired on lap 22 while running inside the top 10. ... The opening MARS weekend (for both the newly developed East and West divisions of the tour, now owned by Clarksville promoter William Scogin) continues Saturday with the Tuckassee Toilet Bowl Classic finale.
Winner's sponsors: Sanders' No. 20 MB Customs Race Car is sponsored by driveWFX.com, Swan Energy, Kimrad Transport, Wichita Tank Racing, D&G Contracting and Bergman Tax & Accounting.
Points chase: Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., is the reigning and four-time MARS DIRTcar champion.
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Kent Robinson
Time: 12.532 seconds
Polesitter: Rodney Sanders
Heat race winners: Rodney Sanders, Terry English, Tony Jackson Jr., Cody Mahoney
Consolation race winners: Caleb Ashby, Gordy Gundaker
Next series race: March 17, Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information