Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 20:54:52

Sponsor 743
October 4
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (DIRTcar Fall Nationals) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated October 5, 11:11 am)
ALMS finale gives Pierce 8 straight wins, $5,000
DIRTcar Fall Nationals
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Devin Moran
  3. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  4. Josh Rice
  5. Jon Henry
  6. Brian Ruhlman
  7. Robby Hensley
  8. Nick Latham
  9. Matt Westfall
  10. Chad Stapleton
  11. Rusty Schlenk
  12. Devin Gilpin
  13. Brandon Thirlby
  14. Nick Kurtz
  15. Dustin Nobbe
  16. Ted Nobbe
  17. Kyle Hammer
  18. Curtis Deisenroth
  19. Phil Ausra
  20. Chad Smith
  21. Dave Baldwin
  22. Jeep Van Wormer
  23. Ben Mott
  24. Collin Thirlby
  25. Shane Unger
presented by
Mike Campbell/campbellphoto.com
Bobby Pierce climbed atop his car in Eldora's victory lane.
What won the race: Continuing a late-season surge with his eighth consecutive victory, Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., took the lead from Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., on the ninth lap and held it for the remainder of Sunday afternoon's 40-lap DIRTcar Fall Nationals. Pierce earned $5,000 in the Sunoco American Late Model Series season finale, beating fourth-row starter Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, to the checkers by 2.379 seconds.
Quotable: "I’m out of breath," Pierce said. "I loved the track. It was fast and rough. I rode the cushion a little bit. It was tricky, but we got the win."
Key notes: Pierce has 17 victories overall in 2015, including 11 since Aug. 30. ... The 2015 UMP DIRTcar Summernationals champion, Pierce also locked up his second straight UMP DIRTcar weekly crown with his triumph. ... Carrier led laps 1-8. ... Jeep Van Wormer was in second when he got into the wall and retired. ... Eleven drivers completed all 40 laps. ... Overall fast-timer Andrew Reaume had his day end with a broken motor on lap six of his heat. ... The race was originally scheduled for Saturday, but wet and cool conditions forced it to Sunday. ... With his ninth-place finish, rookie Matt Westfall clinched Eldora's UMP Late Model track championship; fourth-place finisher Josh Rice came up just short.
On the move: Moran started seventh and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Bob Pierce Race Car has a Pro Power Racing Engine and is sponsored by Allgayer Inc., American Metal Supply Company, Champion Spark Plugs, DMG Mori Ellison, Keyser Mfg., M&M Painting and Construction, Murphy Trucking and Petersen Aluminum.
Points chase: Michigan natives and former series champs Rusty Schlenk and Brandon Thirlby came into the event tied with 866 points apiece. Schlenk finished 11th, two spots better than Thirlby.
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Andrew Reaume
Time: 16.050 seconds
Heat race winners: Robby Hensley, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jon Henry
Editor's note: Corrects fast qualifier and time.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information