Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 06:55:51

Sponsor 743
May 4
Bullring at RICo Fairgrounds,
East Moline, IL
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Hershel Roberts Memorial) - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee (last updated May 6, 10:54 am)
Kay becomes fourth different Deery winner
Hershel Roberts Memorial
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Jeff Aikey
  3. Joel Callahan
  4. Mike Murphy Jr.
  5. Brian Harris
  6. Mike Zemo Jr.
  7. Todd Malmstrom
  8. Tyler Bruening
  9. Andy Eckrich
  10. Matt Ryan
  11. Ray Guss Jr.
  12. Tommy Elston
  13. Mike Cothron
  14. Scott Fitzpatrick
  15. Darrel DeFrance
  16. Jay Johnson
  17. Mike Garland
  18. Andy Nezworski
  19. Milo Veloz Jr.
  20. Dean Wagner
  21. Jason Rauen
  22. Rob Toland
  23. Travis Denning
  24. Ryan Dolan
presented by
Runner-up Jeff Aikey (right) congratulates winner Justin Kay.
What won the race: Polesitter and series points leader Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, took the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the entire 58-lap distance of the Hershel Roberts Memorial for his fourth Deery Brothers Summer Series series victory. Ray Guss Jr., who had won the race honoring his late car owner three times previously, finished 11th.
Quotable: "I got through (corners) three and four really good at first," Kay said. "That went away and one and two came around for me. We at least had one good corner. After a while, I finally figured out how to hit a rut just right and make it turn better."
Key notes: Jason Rauen held the second spot early before fading. ... Kay, who stuck with the low groove all the way, is the fourth winner in four series races. ... Five cautions slowed the 58-lap event, including an early accident that eliminated Ryan Dolan. ... Sunday's race marked the 300th time Jeff Aikey and Darrel DeFrance participated in a series feature. ... DeFrance has competed in all 424 series events stretching back to the tour's beginning in 1987. ... Ray Guss Jr. was trying to become just the second driver in series history to win four consecutive events at the same track; Mark Burgtorf accomplished the feature at Lee County Speedway from 1998-2000.
On the move: Runner-up Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, came from the 12th starting spot; Joel Callahan of Dubuque, Iowa, rallied from 17th to finish third.
Points chase: Justin Kay stretched his series points lead. He's got 190 points to lead Andy Eckrich (181), Tyler Bruening (170) and Joel Callahan (168).
Car count: 34
Polesitter: Justin Kay
Heat race winners: Mike Zemo Jr., Justin Kay, Todd Malmstrom, Jeff Aikey
Consolation race winners: Rob Toland, Matt Ryan
Provisional starters: Mike Cothron, Tyler Bruening, Darrel DeFrance, Dean Wagner
Next series race: May 27, Boone Speedway (Boone, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728