Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 07:09:45

Sponsor 743
May 2
Monett Motor Speedway,
Monett, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 3, 11:16 am)
Vaught notches $3,000 MARS win at Monett
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Jack Sullivan
  3. Justin Asplin
  4. Terry Phillips
  5. Jeremy Payne
  6. Kyle Beard
  7. Tony Jackson Jr.
  8. Tommy Weder Jr.
  9. Jesse Stovall
  10. Brandon McCormick
  11. Garrett Alberson
  12. Shane Essary
  13. Anthony Burroughs
  14. Jeff Roth
  15. Dillon Rupe
  16. Brandon Morton
  17. Cole Wells
  18. Darrell Mooneyham
  19. Dalton Ragsdale
  20. Jon Driskill
  21. Garrett Essary
  22. Jason Hughes
  23. Leroy Johnson
presented by
Ron Mitchell
Will Vaught (1v) works under Kyle Beard (86) en route to victory.
What won the race: Fourth-starting Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., took the lead late in the event when race-long leader Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., slid up the race track in turns three and four and went on to become the sixth different winner through six MARS DIRTcar Series events in 2014, pocketing $3,000 for his efforts.
Quotable: "The history of Monett, the track is so abusive on tires and getting them hot," said Vaught. "I've learned from my mistakes and I was just trying to be patient."
Key notes: Asplin battled side-by-side for the lead with polesitter Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., in the opening laps before gaining the advantage and holding it for much of the race. ... Vaught took second from Beard on a early restart and stalked Asplin until the leader made a mistake. ... Asplin settled for third, while the early-contending Beard was shuffled back to sixth on mid-race restarts. ... Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., piloted the GRT house car to a fifth-place finish. ... Vaught has seven career victories on the tour; his previous MARS win came Aug. 9, 2013, at Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb. ... Monett hosted the first event of a weekend tripleheader for MARS competitors. ... Saturday's tour event in Dodge City, Kan., and Sunday's race in Wichita, Kan., are co-sanctioned by the National Championship Racing Assocation and Championship Dirt Motorsports.
On the move: Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., rallied from the middle of the pack to finish second, following Vaught past Asplin when the leader slipped high.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught pilots a Warrior Race Car powered by a Custom Race Engine with sponsorship from Circle M Auto Sales, Eibach Springs, GW Performance, Integra Racing Shocks, Midwest Sheet Metal, Peterson Fluid Systems, Port City Racing and Warrior Race Cars.
Points chase: Seventh-finishing Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., has 357 points to lead Asplin by 26 points and Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., by 35 points.
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Kyle Beard
Heat race winners: Garrett Alberson, Kyle Beard, Justin Asplin, Will Vaught
Consolation race winners: Shane Essary, Jeff Roth
Provisional starters: Darrell Mooneyham, Jon Driskill, Garrett Essary, Leroy Johnson
Next series race: May 3, Dodge City Raceway Park (Dodge City, KS) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728