Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 00:57:01

Sponsor 743
July 4
Elkins Raceway,
Kerens, WV
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Jim Hitt Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Tommy Michaels and track reports (last updated July 5, 9:29 pm)
Elkins beats rain as Senic pockets $5,000
Jim Hitt Memorial
  1. Tim Senic
  2. Jared Hawkins
  3. Devin Friese
  4. Cody Hardesty
  5. Chuck Harper
  6. Dusty Hamrick
  7. Kevin Dotson
  8. Butch McGill
  9. Joe Cox
  10. Bob Hershman
  11. Cody Rogers
  12. Mike Benedum
  13. Brett Benedum
  14. Shane Hitt
  15. Skip Hare
  16. Robbie Scott
  17. Steve Wilmoth
  18. Charlie George
  19. Gary Dalton
  20. Shawn Poling
presented by
Tommy Michaels
Crew chief Bobby Hart (left) and brother Mike Senic (right) join winner Tim Senic in victory lane at Elkins.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter and former track champion Tim Senic of Elkins, W.Va., captured Saturday's thrice-postponed Jim Hitt Memorial, earning $5,000 in the unsanctioned special. Saturday was the track's fourth attempt to run the Super Late Model special amid problematic weather over two consecutive weekends.
Key notes: Senic survived contact with the slower car of Skip Hare around lap 30 while Hawkins was pressuring him for the lead. ... Steve Wilmoth spun out of the top five on lap 14. ... Polesitter Robbie Scott blew a right-front tire at the outset. ... Shane Hitt ran into an infield tire on lap 33. ... Race sponsor Matt Smith provided $100 apiece to Steve Wilmoth (fast time) and Robbie Scott (dash winner). ... The fourth time was a charm for the fifth annual event — after the race was rained out twice last week, Elkins officials started fresh on Friday night but rain returned after time trials were completed for the 19-car field, forcing another postponement.
On the move: Runner-up Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., started eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Senic's Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from Mach Excavation Service, Roy's RV Supercenter and Schaeffer's Racing Oil.
Points chase: Entering the event, Cody Hardesty of Oakland, Md., had 292 points to lead the Elkins standings over Tim Senic (288) and Bob Gordon (280).
Car count: 22
Polesitter: Robbie Scott
Dash winner: Robbie Scott
Heat race winners: Chuck Harper, Jared Hawkins
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information