Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:46:13

Sponsor 743
June 10
Kokomo Speedway,
Kokomo, IN
Sanction: XR Super Series (Monday Night Spotlight) - $15,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 11, 10:13 am)
Moran nips Gustin in wild finish at Kokomo
Monday Night Spotlight
  1. Devin Moran
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Bobby Pierce
  4. Tyler Erb
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Daulton Wilson
  7. Clay Harris
  8. Adam Stricker
  9. Brenden Smith
  10. Garrett Alberson
  11. Cody Overton
  12. Joseph Joiner
  13. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  14. Tyler Stevens
  15. Ricky Weiss
  16. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  17. Luke Anstett
  18. Hudson O'Neal
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Devin Moran narrowly beats Ryan Gustin and Bobby Pierce to the checkered flags at Kokomo Speedway.
What won the race: Sliding under Ryan Gustin to regain the lead exiting the final corner, second-starting Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, won Monday's $15,000 XR Super Series event at Kokomo Speedway. Moran, who won by 0.069 of a second, captured his first career series victory in a race that saw Hudson O'Neal, who lost the lead after lap-48 contact with Moran, disqualified for retaliating against Moran near the scales after the race by running into the winner's car.
Quotable: “(Hudson O’Neal) just went in there and parked it on my nose and I returned the favor and he got all upset about it,” Moran said. “I don’t know why he would be the one that was upset after he’s the one that started it. But no big deal, he’ll get over it and we won, he didn’t .. whatever. We had a clean race car before we got here, but we were beating and banging and it was fun ... just glad we got it done.”
Key notes: Moran added the victory to his $25,000 triumph four days earlier at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. ... He led the opening 43 laps before Hudson O'Neal slid by on a lap-44 restart. ... O'Neal, winner of last season's XRSS race at Kokomo, led until lap 47 when Moran returned the favor with a restart slider of his own in turn two that saw the cars make heavy contact. Ryan Gustin took advantage to take the lead on lap 48, but after he led two laps, Moran edged him at the checkers. ... O'Neal faced to sixth but was disqualified for driving into Moran's left-rear quarterpanel near the scales after the race. O'Neal's car also struck an official who got between the two cars. ... The sixth-starting Gustin led laps 48-49 before Moran nipped him at the checkers. There were three lead changes among Moran, O'Neal and Gustin between laps 44-50. ... Bobby Pierce, slated to start ninth, was late to staging and started on tale. He rallied to finish third, 0.087 of a second behind Gustin as he nearly made it three-wide at the checkers. ... Tyler Erb and Jason Feger spun while battling for fifth to draw the race's second and final caution on lap 47; the finished fourth and fifth. ... Making his Kokomo debut, pole-starting Garrett Alberson slipped to sixth before slapping the turn-four wall on lap 43, causing the initial stoppage. He retired. ... Fifth-starting Ricky Thornton Jr. was running eighth on lap 22 when he pulled pitside to preserve his car. ... The 50-lapper lasted 19 minutes.
On the move: Clay Harris of Jupiter, Fla., started 15th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Moran’s Double Down Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Race Engine and sponsored by Lazydays RV, Big River Steel, McHugh Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Ram Fiat, CarSourceAuto.com, Red Oak Pub, C&W Trucking & Sons, Inc., Bomag, Southeastern Equipment, VP Race Fuels, Eibach Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Accu-Force Dynos, Lucas Oil Products, Smoky Mountain Speedway, Haulin’ Haskel’s, Lincoln Smith Racing, GE Auto Sales and WME Detailing.
Points chase: After Kokomo: 1. Devin Moran (290); 2. Tyler Erb (238); 3. Daulton Wilson (237); 4. Ricky Thornton Jr. (221); 5. Ricky Weiss (208); 6. Mike Marlar (200); 7. Jonathan Davenport (167); 8. Hudson O’Neal (156); 9. Brandon Overton (154); 10. Jimmy Owens (153).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: Garrett Alberson
Time: 12.811 seconds
Polesitter: Garrett Alberson
Heat race winners: Garrett Alberson, Devin Moran
Next series race: July 1, Gondik Law Speedway (Superior, WI) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Alberson, Moran
Row 2: Wilson, Feger
Row 3: Thornton, Gustin
Row 4: O'Neal, T. Erb
Row 5: Pierce, Stricker
Row 6: Stevens, C. Overton
Row 7: Joiner, Weiss
Row 8: Harris, Anstett
Row 9: Smith, Heckenast

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information