Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 09:31:25

Sponsor 743
March 16
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series (Bama Bash) - $15,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 17, 1:41 pm)
Overton bashes rivals in HTF opener at Talladega
Bama Bash
  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Chris Ferguson
  4. Josh Putnam
  5. Michael Page
  6. Oakley Johns
  7. Tyler Millwood
  8. Ethan Dotson
  9. Spencer Hughes
  10. Wil Herrington
  11. Sam Seawright
  12. Trey Mills
  13. Will Roland
  14. Tanner English
  15. Dalton Cook
  16. Austin Smith
  17. Jackson Hise
  18. Joseph Joiner
  19. Josh Henry
  20. Cla Knight
  21. Cruz Skinner
  22. Caden Mullinax
  23. Cameron Weaver
  24. Donald McIntosh
  25. Zack Mitchell
  26. Scott Bloomquist
  27. Tim Roszell
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/zskphotography.com
Brandon Overton is interviewed by Lenny Batycki after winning Saturday's $15,000 Bama Bash.
What won the race: Pole-starting Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., led all but one lap en route to capturing Saturday's 50-lap Bama Bash at Talladega Short Track. He collected $15,000 for his first career Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series feature victory in the regional tour's season opener and reached victory lane for the second consecutive year at the third-mile oval, where he scored a $50,000 in last year's World of Outlaws-sanctioned Alabama Gang 100.
Quotable: "Honestly, that was probably one of the best cars I’ve had in a really long time," Overton said. "Hats off to my car owner, Eric (Wells); I know he put his heart and soul in this thing and we’ve been busting our ass trying to get it fast for him. I knew I had a really good car — I think (Josh) Putnam was getting around the top there for a minute and he cut down to block me and I was like, 'Hell, I’ll just roll around,’ and I went right back around him, so I said, 'This thing is pretty damn good.' It was all up to me not to screw it up."
Key notes: Overton ceded the lead to Josh Putnam on lap two but regained command the following circuit and went on to his second win of the season over ninth-starting Cory Hedgecock, who advanced from sixth-to-second between laps 15 and 36 and finished 1.485 seconds behind the victor. ... Chris Ferguson improved one spot to finish third. ... Putnam, the reigning series champion Putnam, slipped to fourth in the finishing order after leading lap two. ... Michael Page grabbed fifth on lap 44 and rounded out the top five. ... Ethan Dotson improved seven positions and finished eighth. ... Wil Herrington ran as high as fourth before fading to finish 10th. ... Scott Bloomquist, who announced he hopes to chase the entire HTF tour, hopped the turn-four cushion and spun from 14th to bring out the race's second caution on lap 35. He opted not to continue and was credited with 26th. ... The first yellow flew on lap eight when Cameron Weaver and Donald McIntosh spun together deep in the pack. Both continued and were the final drivers running at the finish. ... The feature was slowed by three separate incidents and lasted 27 minutes, with 19 drivers completing 50 laps. ... Ashton Winger hopped the turn-three cushion on his qualifying lap and flipped several times, landing on his wheels near the track entrance outside turn four He Winger was unhurt but done competing for the night.
On the move: Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., started ninth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Overton’s Wells & Sons Motorsports Wells Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Garnto Southern, Muscle Factory, Coltman Farms Racing, Big Dog Stump & Tree, Victory Fuel, Convenient Lube, E-Z-Go, Hurst Construction, On-Point Wrap Factory, Walker Filters, Impact Race Gear, Boswell Oil, VP Racing Fuels and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: After Talladega: 1. Brandon Overton (100); 2. Cory Hedgecock (94); 3. Chris Ferguson (92); 4. Josh Putnam (90); 5. Michael Page (88); 6. Oakley Johns (86); 7. Tyler Millwood (84); 8. Ethan Dotson (82); 9. Spencer Hughes (80);10. Wil Herrington (78).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 46
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 13.327 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Overton
Heat race winners: Trey Mills, Brandon Overton, Chris Ferguson, Josh Putnam
Consolation race winners: Caden Mullinax, Donald McIntosh
Provisional starters: Joseph Joiner, Dalton Cook, Cla Knight, Cameron Weaver, Tim Roszell
Next series race: April 12, All-Tech Raceway (Ellisville, FL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: B. Overton, Putnam
Row 2: Mills, Ch. Ferguson
Row 3: O. Johns, Herrington
Row 4: Mitchell, Page
Row 5: Hedgecock, Millwood
Row 6: Bloomquist, Henry
Row 7: Hughes, Roland
Row 8: Dotson, English
Row 9: Mullinax, McIntosh
Row 10: Smith, C. Skinner
Row 11: Hise, Seawright
Row 12: Joiner, D. Cook
Row 13: Knight, C. Weaver
Row 14: Roszell
Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information