Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 09:07:19

Sponsor 743
January 20
Central Arizona Raceway,
Casa Grande, AZ
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Ernie Mincy Early Thaw) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated January 21, 3:50 am)
Peterson powers to $3,000 Early Thaw victory
Ernie Mincy Early Thaw
  1. Tyler Peterson
  2. Billy Moyer
  3. Ricky Weiss
  4. Clay Stuckey
  5. Michael Leach
  6. Eston Whisler
  7. Dustin Strand
  8. Josh Zimpel
  9. Dustin Bluhm
  10. Ryan Corbett
  11. Terry Carter
  12. Bricen James
  13. Scott Ward
  14. Dave Mass
  15. Cole Schill
  16. Jason Strand
  17. Steve Stultz
  18. Matt Sparby
  19. Rusty Kollman
  20. Brandon Corbett
  21. Shane Sabraski
  22. Denver Nickeson
  23. Karl Tipton
  24. Rob Mayea
  25. Beau Nave
  26. Thomas Hunziker
  27. Shane Edginton
presented by
Ron Pelton Jr.
Tyler Peterson topped Saturday's third round of the Ernie Mincy Early Thaw.
What won the race: Inheriting the point when early race leader Shane Edginton retired on lap six, fifth-starting Tyler Peterson of Hickson, N.D., paced the remaining circuits to win Saturday's 35-lap third round of the Ernie Mincy Early Thaw at Central Arizona Raceway. After folding his nose under while leading on Thursday and pulling off, Peterson earned $3,000 for his first career Early Thaw win and his first victory of the season.
Quotable: “I’ve been talking with my boy Kurt (Rogers) back at Rocket (Chassis),” Peterson said. “Nothing is really different from last year. It’s kinda the exact same thing we’ve been running and made one little change tonight — Kurt knows what it is — and it made all the difference.”
Key notes: The pole-starting Edginton, of East Saint Paul, Manitoba, led the first six laps before pulling off. ... After winning Thursday and Friday's opening rounds, 10th-starting Billy Moyer moved into second on the lap-seven restart and trailed Peterson the rest of the way, finishing 1.116 seconds back aboard a Don Shaw-owned machine. ... Ricky Weiss completed the podium after taking the third spot on a lap-11 restart. ... Michael Leach took fifth on lap 30 and rounded out the top-five finishers. ... Dustin Strand overcame a flat left-rear that drew the race's opening caution on lap five, rebounding to finish sixth. ... Dustin Bluhm improved five positions and finished ninth. ... The third yellow came out on lap 10 when 11th-running Thomas Hunziker slowed on the frontstretch. ... The fourth and final caution was displayed on a lap-11 restart attempt when Rob Mayea, Beau Nave and Brandon Corbett tangled at the exit of turn two; Corbett continued and finished 20th while Mayea and Nave retired. ... Saturday's feature lasted 22 minutes, with 15 competitors completing 35 laps and 21 running at the finish.
On the move: Clay Stuckey of Shreveport, La., started 16th and finished fourth; Michael Leach of Sun River, Mont., started 17th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Peterson’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Corky Thomas Race Engine and carries sponsorship from Enclave, Quick-Lift by TP Fabricating, Northwest Auto Body, Fastenal, AllFab Railings & Metalworks, Powdercoat Specialists and Slider Shots Media.
Points chase: After Saturday: 1. Billy Moyer (331); 2. Ricky Weiss (317); 3. Clay Stuckey (288); 4. Dustin Bluhm (278); 5. Dustin Strand (275).
Current weather: Clear, 57°F
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Shane Edginton
Heat race winners: Eston Whisler, Shane Edginton, Josh Zimpel, Ryan Corbett
Consolation race winners: Michael Leach, Shane Sabraski
Provisional starters: Beau Nave, Jason Strand, Scott Ward
Next series race: January 25, Central Arizona Raceway (Casa Grande, Ariz.) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Edginton, R. Corbett
Row 2: Carter, D. Strand
Row 3: Peterson, E. Whisler
Row 4: Zimpel, Mayea
Row 5: Kollman, Moyer
Row 6: Weiss, Nickeson
Row 7: Tipton, Bluhm
Row 8: Sparby, C. Stuckey
Row 9: Leach, Sabraski
Row 10: Stultz, Hunziker
Row 11: C. Schill, Mass
Row 12: James, B. Corbett
Row 13: Nave, J. Strand
Row 14: Ward
Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information