Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/15/2024 20:17:54

Sponsor 743
September 30
Atomic Speedway,
Alma, OH
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Outlaw Invasion) - $15,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 1, 3:47 am)
Pierce slides by Madden to win $15,000 at Atomic
Outlaw Invasion
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Chris Madden
  3. Brian Shirley
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Brandon Sheppard
  6. Mike Marlar
  7. Cade Dillard
  8. Brent Larson
  9. Nick Hoffman
  10. Adam Stricker
  11. Tanner English
  12. Ryan Gustin
  13. R.J. Conley
  14. Jesse Wisecarver
  15. Kyle Bronson
  16. Shane Clanton
  17. Dustin Walker
  18. Gordy Gundaker
  19. Rod Conley
  20. Todd Cooney
  21. Jimmy Owens
  22. Shane Bailey
  23. Clint Keenan
  24. Zack Dohm
presented by
Ryan Roberts
Bobby Pierce (32) overtakes Chris Madden (44) to win $15,000 at Atomic.
What won the race: Overtaking early leader Chris Madden with a turn-three slider on lap 32, second-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., led the final 19 laps to win Saturday's $15,000 Outlaw Invasion finale at Atomic Speedway. Pierce captured his 12th World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series full-field feature victory of the season and the 16th of his career, further extending his points lead.
Quotable: “I knew we had a good car and we chose the right tires, I loved to see it stay green there,” Pierce said. “I figured the track, after the second night of racing on it, that it would get a lot harder and slicker; eventually, it played right into our favor. I knew we were fast when it wasn’t even lap 25 yet. I told Chris (Madden) at the redraw that this corner (turn one) is gonna start to black-up a lot and that one (turn three) is gonna get blacker. I told him what I was gonna go with and I think the whole field went soft (tire compound).”
Key notes: It's Pierce's second victory of the week after topping Wednesday's $23,023 Castrol FloRacing Night in America Series stop at Tyler County (W.Va.) Speedway. ... Chris Madden led 30 of the first 31 laps from the pole before being overtaken by Pierce and settling for second, crossing the checkers 2.773 seconds back. ... Brian Shirley led lap 14 before waging a late-race battle with Dennis Erb Jr. and prevailing to finish third, with the seventh-starting Erb taking fourth. ... After winning Friday's $10,000 opener, Mike Marlar passed for sixth on lap 48. ... Following Friday's fifth place finish, Brent Larson improved seven positions and finished eighth. ... Adam Stricker gained eight spots and completed the top 10. ... Jimmy Owens ran as high as sixth before mechnical woes on lap 38 ended his night. ... Saturday's 13-minute feature was completed without incident, with nine drivers completing 50 laps and 20 running at the finish.
On the move: Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., started 19th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Cajun Pools & Spas, Bloomington Normal Truck Performance, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Vic Hill Race Engines, Swift Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Toyota of Danville, Ted Brown’s Quality Paint and Body Shop, Extreme Electric, Fast1 Speed Shop, Performance Bodies, A Plus Vacuum, Lekg Tree Service, Bert Transmission by Budda, Velocita-USA, Robert and Sons Aluminum, VP Racing Fuels and FK Rod Ends.
Points chase: After Atomic: 1. Bobby Pierce (5,038); 2. Chris Madden (4,892); 3. Brandon Sheppard (4,870); 4. Ryan Gustin (4,784); 5. Brian Shirley (4,764); 6. Kyle Bronson (4,744); 7. Nick Hoffman (4,738); 8. Dennis Erb Jr. (4,726); 9. Tanner English (4,722); 10. Shane Clanton (4,528); 11. Cade Dillard (4,476); 12. Brent Larson (4,378).
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 13.114 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Madden
Heat race winners: Chris Madden, Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Shirley
Consolation race winners: Jesse Wisecarver, Adam Stricker
Provisional starters: Shane Clanton, Shane  Bailey
Next series race: October 6, Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Madden, Pierce
Row 2: Shirley, Sheppard
Row 3: R.J. Conley, Hoffman
Row 4: D. Erb Jr., Owens
Row 5: Dillard, Gustin
Row 6: Walker, English
Row 7: Bronson, G. Gundaker
Row 8: B. Larson, Z. Dohm
Row 9: Wisecarver, Stricker
Row 10: Marlar, Rod Conley
Row 11: Cooney, Keenan
Row 12: Clanton, Bailey
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information