Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2024 21:13:02

Sponsor 743
September 23
C.J. Speedway,
Columbus Junction, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank East Series (Governor's Cup) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 24, 7:52 am)
Governor's Cup gives Stewart season sweep at C.J.
Governor's Cup
  1. Derrick Stewart
  2. Chad Holladay
  3. Chris Spieker
  4. Andy Eckrich
  5. Jeff Tharp
  6. Jeff Aikey
  7. Charlie McKenna
  8. Jason Hahne
  9. Matt Ryan
  10. Luke Goedert
  11. Darrel DeFrance
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Curt Schroeder
  14. Justin Kay
  15. Fred Remley
  16. Curtis Glover
  17. Chad Simpson
  18. Josh Foster
  19. Ron Boyse
  20. Thomas Stevens
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Derrick Stewart secured his second series win of the season at C.J. Speedway.
What won the race: Fending-off late challenges from Chad Holladay, pole-starting Derrick Stewart of Ainsworth, Iowa, led all 35 laps to win Saturday's $5,000 Governor's Cup at C.J. Speedway. Stewart secured his second career Hoker Trucking Series feature victory — both coming at Columbus Junction — and his third overall SLMR win of the season.
Key notes: Series points leader, the fifth-starting Holladay, of Muscatine, Iowa, moved into the runner-up spot on lap 27 and trailed Stewart the final nine laps, finishing 0.780 of a second back. ... Second-starting Chris Spieker pursued Stewart for the first 26 laps before being overtaken by Holladay and settling for third. ... Andy Eckrich started and finished fourth. ... Jason Hahne and Luke Goedert each improved four positions, finishing eighth and 10th. ... Three-time series winner this season, sixth-starting Chad Simpson worked his way up to second by lap 13 before pulling off on lap 15 and calling it a night. ... Saturday's 11-minute feature was completed green-to-checkered, with nine competitors completing 35 laps and 13 running at the finish. ... With rain looming, series officials scrapped the consolation and allowed the top-20 in points to start Saturday's main event; the five drivers who did not qualify were awarded $250 tow-money.
On the move: Charlie McKenna of Ames, Iowa, started 15th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Stewart’s Stewart & Sons-owned Capital Race Car is sponsored by B.W. Brown Inc., Midwest Frame & Axle, Huston Bros. Ag, LLC, Stewart & Sons, LTD, Arnold Motor Supply in Washington, Iowa, Outlaw Cleaning, Midwest Wheel Companies, Keltner & Co. Welding and Fabrication, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Racing Tire, Penske Racing Shocks and Malvern Bank.
Points chase: After Columbus Junction: 1. Chad Holladay (4,078); 2. Andy Eckrich (4,052); 3. Charlie McKenna (4,000); 4. Jeff Aikey (3,989); 5. Jason Hahne (3,914).
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Chad Holladay
Time: 18.713 seconds
Polesitter: Derrick Stewart
Heat race winners: Jeff Aikey, Matt Ryan, Ron Boyse
Next series race: October 13, Mason City Motor Speedway (Mason City, IA) $1,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stewart, Spieker
Row 2: Tharp, A. Eckrich
Row 3: Holladay, Chad Simpson
Row 4: Aikey, Boyse
Row 5: Kay, Ryan
Row 6: Glover, Hahne
Row 7: D. Eckrich, Goedert
Row 8: McKenna, DeFrance
Row 9: Foster, Stevens
Row 10: Schroeder, Remley

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information