Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/27/2024 04:49:21

Sponsor 743
June 11
Stuart International Speedway,
Stuart, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 12, 11:12 am)
Pospisil takes Stuart as flat dooms Zeitner
  1. Tad Pospisil
  2. Jesse Sobbing
  3. Bill Leighton Jr.
  4. Zach Zeitner
  5. Jason Hahne
  6. Jaxon Saathoff
  7. Charlie McKenna
  8. Darrel DeFrance
  9. Josh Leonard
  10. Paul Glendenning
  11. Andrew Kosiski
  12. Curt Schroeder
  13. Derrick Stewart
  14. Brian Kosiski
  15. Justin Zeitner
  16. Troy Daly
  17. Curtis Glover
  18. Jay Burdic
  19. Corey Zeitner
  20. Brad Perdue
  21. Scott Daly
  22. Shawn Cooney
presented by
Tad Pospisil and his team enjoy victory lane in Stuart, Iowa.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead after Justin Zeitner slowed with a flat tire, Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb., led the final four circuits Sunday at Stuart International Speedway to collect his 33rd career Malvern Bank Series victory and his third at Stuart since 2020. Pospisil took the checkers 0.668 seconds ahead of defending series champion Jesse Sobbing.
Quotable: “Yeah they prepped this track and I didn’t know what to expect, I thought maybe we were gonna be a little bit too tight, but it blew off quick,” Pospisil said. “You know the track owner, hats (off) to him, he said lap 20-30 was going to be a hell of a race. Justin (Zeitner) had a hell of a good car, he got out (front) on me there, but that cushion was starting to wear out and I could feel it, I knew this thing was gonna transition back to the bottom at some point in time. Super proud of my team, we had a heck of a weekend at Eldora, this place is a lot different than that, very technical.”
Key notes: With four laps remaining, Justin Zeitner slowed with flat right rear tire at the top of turn four to surrender the race lead to eventual winner Tad Pospisil. ... Pospisil made an 11-hour trek overnight to Stuart International after competing in the Dream at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. … Runner-up Jesse Sobbing of Malvern, Iowa, led the opening seven circuits before losing the lead to Zeitner. ... The first caution was drawn on lap 16 when Justin Zeitner got together with a lapped car of Brad Perdue of Council Bluffs, Iowa, while leading; Perdue finished 20th. ... Jaxon Saathoff, 21, of Beatrice, Neb., finished sixth in his Late Model debut in the Hunnicutt Racing entry. ... Celebrating his 37th birthday, Josh Leonard of Gibbon, Neb., finished ninth. ... The 35-lapper, postponed by April 23 rain, was slowed by four cautions and lasted just over 16 minutes. … Malvern Bank competitors return to Stuart on July 2 for another $3,000-to-win show.
On the move: Charlie McKenna of Ames, Iowa, started 22nd and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Pospisil’s Team Zero Race Car is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Window World, Signor Trucking, Dietz Well & Pump, Keyser Manufacturing, Bam Roller Lifters, Penske Racing Shocks, ASI Racewear, Sehi & Associates CPAs and KIX 106.7-FM.
Points chase: After Stuart: 1. Jesse Sobbing (1,370); 2. Tad Pospisil (1,364); 3. Bill Leighton Jr. (1,300: 4. Justin Zeitner (1,292); 5. Josh Leonard (1,276).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Jason Hahne
Time: 12.398 seconds
Polesitter: Corey Zeitner
Heat race winners: Paul Glendenning, Josh Leonard, Name unavailable
Next series race: June 16, Beatrice Speedway (Beatrice, NE) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Zeitner, Sobbing
Row 2: Pospisil, J. Zeitner
Row 3: Leighton, Z. Zeitner
Row 4: Hahne, Saathoff
Row 5: Kosiski, Stewart
Row 6: T. Daly, Glendenning
Row 7: Leonard, DeFrance
Row 8: Kosiski, Schroeder
Row 9: Burdic, Perdue
Row 10: Glover, S. Daly
Row 11: Cooney, McKenna

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information