Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:12:53

Sponsor 743
May 5
Ponderosa Speedway,
Junction City, KY
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (John Bradshaw Memorial) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 6, 12:37 pm)
Marlar masters Lucas Oil field at Ponderosa
John Bradshaw Memorial
  1. Mike Marlar
  2. Hudson O'Neal
  3. Brandon Overton
  4. Jonathan Davenport
  5. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  6. Josh Rice
  7. Spencer Hughes
  8. Tyler Erb
  9. Zack Dohm
  10. Devin Moran
  11. Daulton Wilson
  12. Garrett Alberson
  13. Cory Hedgecock
  14. Max Blair
  15. Tim McCreadie
  16. Ross Robinson
  17. David Webb
  18. Tyler Bruening
  19. Garrett Smith
  20. Logan Roberson
  21. Boom Briggs
  22. Kyle Strickler
  23. Jimmy Owens
  24. Earl Pearson Jr.
  25. Dustin Linville
  26. Camaron Marlar
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Mike Marlar celebrates the flag-to-flag victory at Ponderosa.
What won the race: Pole-starting Mike Marlar led all 50 laps at Ponderosa Speedway en route to Friday's $12,000 win in the 19th annual John Bradshaw Memorial. Marlar notched his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season and the 18th of his career. It's his third overall win of the season.
Quotable: “You know your tires will cool off and the track bleeds, things happen under caution. It’s usually a good thing, especially if you’re in the lead, gives you a clean track,” Marlar said. “You drive these cars on just such a fine line on every little thing you do in there, adjusting brakes. It’s cool that the John Bradshaw Memorial has gotten to be as big as it’s gotten to be, I came here to race when they first dubbed it, it was $5,000-to-win.”
Key notes: Seeing his three-race Lucas Oil Series win streak snapped, Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., settled for the runner-up position, 0.574 of a second back. ... Third-finishing Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., secured his second podium of the weekend. ... Jonathan Davenport and Ricky Thornton Jr. each advanced one position, finishing fourth and fifth. ... Josh Rice gained four spots and finished sixth. ... A night after his 18th-to-seventh drive at Ohio's Atomic Speedway, Tyler Erb moved forward eight spots and finished eighth. ... Zack Dohm started 12th and finished ninth. ... Earl Pearson Jr. drew the race's first caution on lap 21 with a failed radiator. ... Friday's feature was slowed by two incidents and lasted 16 minutes, with 13 competitors completing all 50 laps. ... The event paid tribute to John Bradshaw, who had taken over as Ponderosa’s promoter to begin the 2003 season, but died after running only a handful of events.
On the move: Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, started 16th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Marlar’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Delk Equipment, Petroff Towing, Tri-Rivers Enterprise (Mark and Kim Dotson), Can-Am Auto Salvage, Auto Parts 4 Less, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Capital Capsigns, VP Racing Fuels, Stanley Best Heating & Air, Midwest Sheet Metal and Bilstein.
Points chase: After Ponderosa: 1. Hudson O’Neal (1,640); 2. Brandon Overton (1,595); 3. Ricky Thornton Jr. (1,580); 4. Jonathan Davenport (1,445); 5. Tim McCreadie (1,400); T6. Devin Moran (1,340); T6. Max Blair (1,340); 8. Tyler Erb (1,315); 9. Daulton Wilson (1,290); 10. Earl Pearson Jr. (1,190).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Brandon Overton
Time: 12.631 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Marlar
Heat race winners: Mike Marlar, Daulton Wilson, Brandon Overton, Hudson O'Neal
Consolation race winners: Jimmy Owens
Provisional starters: Tyler Bruening, Logan Roberson, Boom Briggs, Camaron Marlar
Next series race: May 6, Florence Speedway (Union, KY) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: M. Marlar, Overton
Row 2: Wilson, O'Neal
Row 3: Davenport, Thornton Jr.
Row 4: Hughes, Blair
Row 5: Robinson, Jo. Rice
Row 6: Moran, Z. Dohm
Row 7: Hedgecock, Pearson Jr.
Row 8: Strickler, T. Erb
Row 9: Owens, Alberson
Row 10: McCreadie, Smith
Row 11: Webb, Linville
Row 12: Bruening, Roberson
Row 13: Briggs, C. Marlar
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information