Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 05:37:40

Sponsor 743
May 5
Bedford Speedway,
Bedford, PA
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Billy Winn Classic) - $8,700
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated May 8, 10:27 am)
Zeigler wins Bedford's $8,700 Billy Winn Classic
Billy Winn Classic
  1. Mason Zeigler
  2. Kyle Lee
  3. Gregg Satterlee
  4. Jeff Rine
  5. Matt Cosner
  6. Alex Ferree
  7. Dylan Yoder
  8. Jason Covert
  9. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  10. Andrew Yoder
  11. Travis Stickley
  12. Bryan Bernheisel
  13. Nathan LaSalle
  14. Matt Sponaugle
  15. Chuck Clise
  16. Hayes Mattern
  17. Cody Overton
  18. Deshawn Gingerich
  19. Drake Troutman
  20. Jim Yoder
  21. Shaun Jones
  22. Spike Moore
  23. Austin Berry
  24. Dillan Stake
  25. Justin Weaver
presented by
Jason Walls/wrtspeedwerx.com
Mason Zeigler led all 50 laps en route to his Billy Winn Classic victory.
What won the race: Pole-starting Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., led all 50 laps at Bedford Speedway, cruising to win Friday's $8,700 Billy Winn Classic feature. Zeigler drove a new Rocket Chassis to a $7,055 victory in the unsanctioned Super Late Model special event at the fairgrounds oval.
Quotable: "This thing is exactly what it's called. It's a Rocket, man," winner Mason Zeigler said of his new car. "As soon as we unloaded, in hot laps we were fastest, qualifying, I think we were less than a couple hundredths off the track record. ... I'm really excited about the future and I'm really excited about where (Rocket's) Mark Richards and their program is right now. They've stepped it up big time."
Key notes: Zeigler debuted a new Rocket — a virtually all-black car — after a stint driving the Barry Wright Race Cars house car. ... Kyle Lee trailed Zeigler the entire distance, finishing 2.892 seconds back. ... Defending Billy Winn Classic winner, Gregg Satterlee, moved into third on lap 34 and completed the podium. ... Three-time feature winner at Bedford last year, Jeff Rine, moved into fourth on lap 43 and finished there. ... Alex Ferree ran as high as third in the early laps before fading to finish sixth. ... Driving Bruce Kane Racing's Rocket Chassis, Cody Overton retired on lap 42 and finished 17th. ... Drake Troutman slowed from third on lap 33 and pulled off, finishing 19th. ... Rick Eckert and Kyle Hardy were unable to complete their heat races and scratched for the remainder of the night. … Bedford Speedway celebrates its 87th year of racing action this season, placing it within the top-10 of oldest racing facilities in the country. … Friday's feature, the Billy Winn Classic, was slowed by one incident on lap two and lasted 23 minutes, with nine competitors completing all 50 laps. ... The event honors Billy Winn, one of the top dirt racers of the 1930s and winner of the first race at Bedford Speedway in '36. Winn, inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 2003, made eight career Indianapolis 500 starts.
On the move: Matt Cosner of Ridgeley, W.Va., started 13th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Zeigler’s Rocket Chassis has a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from JLE Industries, Greenlane.ai, Imperial River Transport, Roy's Body Shop & Garage, RBS Auto & Trailer Sales: Sykesville, MD, Ohiopyle Vacation Rentals, Fox Shocks, Wiles Driveshafts and All About Wraps.
Points chase: Drake Troutman of Hyndman, Pa., leads the track's Super Late Model points.
Current weather: Clear, 52°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Mason Zeigler
Time: 18.589 seconds
Polesitter: Mason Zeigler
Heat race winners: Mason Zeigler, Alex Ferree, Drake Troutman
Consolation race winners: Jim Yoder
Provisional starters: Justin Weaver
Editor's note: Correct winner's chassis, engine and sponsor listing.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Zeigler, K. Lee
Row 2: Satterlee, Ferree
Row 3: Covert, Troutman
Row 4: Rine, D. Yoder
Row 5: Carrier Jr., A. Yoder
Row 6: Gingerich, Moore
Row 7: Cosner, Stake
Row 8: Stickley, Mattern
Row 9: C. Overton, Bernheisel
Row 10: J. Yoder, Sponaugle
Row 11: Berry, Clise
Row 12: LaSalle, Jones
Row 13: Weaver
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information