Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:18:53

Sponsor 743
May 5
Tri-County Racetrack,
Brasstown, NC
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $7,553
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 6, 6:57 pm)
Ferguson tops Spring Nationals field at Tri-County
  1. Carson Ferguson
  2. Dale McDowell
  3. Kenny Collins
  4. Benji Hicks
  5. Will Roland
  6. Gavin Cowan
  7. Ross Bailes
  8. Haiden Cowan
  9. David Payne
  10. David McCoy
  11. Chuck Southard
  12. Kaede Loudy
  13. Jamie Oliver
  14. Brian Nuttall Jr.
  15. Johnny Gulizia
  16. Caden Mullinax
  17. Josh Henry
  18. Galen Robinson
  19. Chase Walls
  20. Brent Dixon
  21. Shawn Chastain
  22. Dante Curtis
  23. Floyd Self
presented by
Joshua Carpenter/Shifting Gears Media
Carson Ferguson's winning car at Tri-County Racetrack.
What won the race: Carson Ferguson of Lincolnton, N.C., regained the lead on lap 13 and paced the final 28 circuits at Tri-County Racetrack, fending off challenges from Dale McDowell in the closing laps to win Friday's $7,553 Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals feature. Ferguson led a total of 29 laps, earning his first victory of the season and his second with the Spring Nationals tour - his first since last April at Crossville Speedway.
Quotable: “I didn’t think (Roland) was gonna move down like that and a few laps before that, I about ran into the back of him. I threw a hail mary up on the top and it stuck for me,” Ferguson said. “It’s awesome, we had a good showing here last time and my mentor told me I had a lot to learn. I took that to heart and did some studying and we came back and was better.”
Key notes: Dale McDowell advanced two positions and finished second, 0.707 of a second back. ... Kenny Collins started and finished third. ... Benji Hicks advanced six positions and finished fourth. ... Will Roland led 11 of the first 12 laps before fading to finish fifth. ... After scratching from qualifying and completing only one lap in his consolation race, Ross Bailes gained 14 spots and finished seventh. ... David McCoy started 14th and finished 10th. ... Friday's feature, the first Spring Nationals Series feature since April 1 at EAMS, was slowed by three cautions and lasted 20 minutes, with eight drivers completing all 40 laps. ... The Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals concludes its weekend doubleheader with Saturday's $10,053-to-win feature at Rome (Ga.) Speedway. ... Watch live on FloRacing.
On the move: Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., started 21st and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Ferguson’s Paylor Motorsports Longhorn by Wesley Page Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by WP Racing Shocks, Hoopaugh Grading Company, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil, Night Owl National Contractors, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, John Page Racing, Live Oak Family Dentistry, VP Race Fuels, Earnhardt Technologies and Pro Fabrication.
Points chase: After Tri-County: 1. Carson Ferguson (1,138); 2. Ross Bailes (1,108); 3. Kenny Collins (1,078); 4. Haiden Cowan (1,060); 5. Caden Mullinax (945).
Current weather: Overcast, 57°F
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Carson Ferguson
Time: 12.367 seconds
Polesitter: Carson Ferguson
Consolation race winners: Josh Henry, Brent Dixon
Provisional starters: Ross Bailes, Brian Nuttall Jr., Kaede Loudy
Next series race: May 6, Rome Speedway (Rome, GA) $10,053
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ca. Ferguson, Roland
Row 2: Collins, McDowell
Row 3: G. Cowan, Robinson
Row 4: H. Cowan, Payne
Row 5: Southard, Hicks
Row 6: Henry, Dixon
Row 7: Gulizia, McCoy
Row 8: Mullinax, Chastain
Row 9: Oliver, Walls
Row 10: Curtis, Self
Row 11: Bailes, Nuttal Jr.
Row 12: Loudy
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information