Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 06:14:30

Sponsor 743
May 4
Mississippi Thunder Speedway,
Fountain City, WI
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Dairyland Showdown second semifeature) - $5,000
Information provided by: Kevin Kovac, series and track reports (last updated May 5, 2:14 pm)
Dillard overcomes contact to win WoO semifeature
Dairyland Showdown second semifeature
  1. Cade Dillard
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Nick Hoffman
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Chris Madden
  6. Gordy Gundaker
  7. Chase Junghans
  8. Chad Simpson
  9. Shane Clanton
  10. Jordan Yaggy
  11. Chris Simpson
  12. Daniel Hilsabeck
  13. Sam Mars
  14. Blair Nothdurft
  15. Paul Parker
  16. Parker Martin
  17. John Kaanta
  18. Todd Cooney
  19. Dustin Walker
  20. Brent Larson
  21. Gary Brown Jr.
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Cade Dillard en route to winning Thursday's second $5,000 semifeature at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.
What won the race: Debuting a new Longhorn Chassis, Cade Dillard of Robeline, La., took the lead on lap 15 following contact with race-long leader Brent Larson, sending him nose-first into the backstretch wall, before pacing the final 11 laps at Mississippi Thunder Speedway and winning Thursday's second $5,000 World of Outlaws Case Late Model semifeature. Dillard secured his second victory of the season and his first aboard a Longhorn.
Quotable: “(Larson) knew he was in a bind, started using the whole track, we entered the bottom over here and I got a run there on the top,” Dillard said. “I feel like I was far enough when I seen he wasn’t leaving any room, I checked up to leave him room, I mean you can watch the video, I got on the brakes, he just kept coming but I’m not surprised with that.”
Key notes: Larson, of Lake Elmo, Minn., was credited with finishing 20th after leading the first 14 laps; Larson finished the race with heavy nose damage following the contact while battling for the lead — Larson appeared to move up the track at the exit of two, unaware that Dillard already had a nose to his outside — and expressed his displeasure with a one-finger salute to Dillard following the race. ... Never officially leading a lap at the line, Bobby Pierce briefly took the point from Larson before settling for second place, 1.347 seconds back. ... Overcoming transmission problems during hot laps, Nick Hoffman advanced three positions and finished third. ... Reigning series champion Dennis Erb Jr. finished fourth after receiving his championship ring prior to Thursday's race action. ... Current series points leader Chris Madden gained four spots and finished fifth. ... Thursday's second semifeature was slowed by two cautions and lasted 12 minutes, with 14 competitors completing 25 laps. ... The World of Outlaws contest another pair of 25-lap, $5,000-to-win semifeatures on Friday at Mississippi Thunder, with both nights setting the stage for Saturday's 75-lap, $50,000-to-win Dairyland Showdown finale.
On the move: Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., started 16th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Dillard’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by S&S Fishing & Rental, Krohn Farms, Joel’s Auto Sales, Strength Roofing & Siding, Johnsville Company LLC, Jody’s Oilfield Service, Bryan Cook Trucks, Hoosier Racing Tire Southwest, Lonestar Equipment & Repair, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Nichols, Production Jars, Bilstein Shocks, VP Racing Fuels and Supreme Vinyl Works.
Points chase: Before Mississippi Thunder: 1. Chris Madden (1,114); 2. Kyle Bronson (1,096); T3. Ryan Gustin (1,088); T3. Brian Shirley (1,088); 5. Brandon Sheppard (1,062); 6. Nick Hoffman (1,058); 7. Bobby Pierce (1,048); 8. Max Blair (1,042); 9. Tanner English (1,024); 10. Dennis Erb Jr. (1,012).
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 43
Fast qualifier: Cade Dillard
Time: 13.580 seconds
Polesitter: Cade Dillard
Next series race: May 5, Mississippi Thunder Speedway (Fountain City, WI) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Dillard, B. Larson
Row 2: G. Gundaker, Pierce
Row 3: D. Erb Jr., Hoffman
Row 4: Junghans, Chad Simpson
Row 5: Madden, S. Mars
Row 6: Chris Simpson, Cooney
Row 7: Brown Jr., Parker
Row 8: Yaggy, Clanton
Row 9: Walker, Nothdurft
Row 10: Hilsabeck, Kaanta
Row 11: P. Martin
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information