Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 04:55:05

Sponsor 743
April 29
Fort Payne Motor Speedway,
Fyffe, AL
Sanction: United Championship Racing Alliance (Marvin Ford Classic) - $7,238
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 30, 9:56 pm)
Shannon wins Fort Payne's Marvin Ford Classic
Marvin Ford Classic
  1. Matt Shannon
  2. Marty Lunsford
  3. Jeff Helms
  4. Brent Rhodes
  5. Bill Mahan
  6. Chase Oliver
  7. Sam Seawright
  8. Kevin Hale
  9. Kasey Hall
  10. Jessie Hughes
  11. Kenny Kizzar
  12. Roger Morgan
  13. Cody Overton
  14. Jay Cromer
  15. Jason Williams
  16. Derek Dent
  17. Jason Lively
presented by
Submitted photo
Matt Shannon earned a career-high $7,238 for his victory at Fort Payne.
What won the race: Matt Shannon of Delano, Tenn., dominated Saturday's Marvin Ford Classic feature at Fort Payne Motor Speedway, topping the United Championship Racing Alliance field and cruising to collect the $7,238 payday. Shannon earned his second UCRA victory of the season in the series record-paying event.
Key notes: UCRA winner at Fort Payne on March 11, Marty Lunsford finished second, 0.688 of a second back. ... Jeff Helms took advantage of the lap-70 restart and finished third. ... Sam Seawright collected the $338 fast qualifier bonus and ran as high as fourth in the closing laps before tagging the rear of the field in the race's final caution on lap 69. With only a few laps to recover, Seawright finished seventh. ... Cody Overton completed only 44 laps and finished 13th. ... Jason Williams, Derek Dent and Jason Lively were unable to complete a lap, finishing 15th through 17th. … The program honored Marvin Ford, the late Fort Payne owner and UCRA founder who passed away last year. … Saturday's feature, three-times rescheduled due to unfavorable weather and originally set to pay $3,038-to-win, was slowed by multiple cautions and lasted 45 minutes with eight drivers completing all 72 laps. … The series returns to Fort Payne May 6 and June 17.
Winner's sponsors: Shannon’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by ASM Home & Commercial Services, SyMy Capital LLC, Interstate Welding & Steel Supply, Mike Fauser Plumbing, Team SRI Performance, Action Suspension and Young Blood Graphix.
Points chase: Before Fort Payne: 1. Jessie Hughes (50); 2. Kasey Hall (39); T3. Matt Shannon (30); T3. Marty Lunsford (30); T5. Brad Llewellyn (28); T5. Jason Lively (28).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Sam Seawright
Time: 14.276 seconds
Next series race: May 13, Crossville Speedway (Crossville, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information