Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/21/2024 18:41:08

Sponsor 743
October 14
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (MLRA Championship Weekend) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 15, 11:23 pm)
Trevor Gundaker scores first MLRA win at Tri-City
MLRA Championship Weekend
  1. Trevor Gundaker
  2. Logan Martin
  3. Gordy Gundaker
  4. Brian Shirley
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Mike Harrison
  7. Mark Burgtorf
  8. Kolby Vandenbergh
  9. Chad Simpson
  10. Justin Reed
  11. Tony Jackson Jr.
  12. Rickey Frankel
  13. Jeff Herzog
  14. Dylan Thompson
  15. Brennon Willard
  16. Brian Diveley
  17. Daniel Hilsabeck
  18. Steve Stultz
  19. Johnathan Huston
  20. Austin Vincent
  21. Rusty Schlenk
  22. Billy Moyer
  23. Kaeden Cornell
  24. Tyler Nicely
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Trevor Gundaker celebrates his first career MLRA series victory at Tri-City Speedway on Friday.
What won the race: Trevor Gundaker of St. Charles, Mo., rode the inside line at Tri-City Speedway on Friday, taking the lead on the 15th circuit and led the rest of the way at his home track, earning his first career Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association feature victory and $5,000. The 19-year-old Gundaker was aboard Reid Millard's backup car after breaking a rocker arm in his engine during Thursday's open practice session.
Quotable: "We were good all night, we just tweaked on little things after hot laps to get it to my driving style and made very small adjustments all night," an emotional Gundaker said. "We had a heartfelt loss this week with my main sponsor, Gateway Powder Coating, Mark (Eckman) and his whole family, it was such a tough loss."
Key notes: Logan Martin of West Plains, Mo., advanced seven positions to claim the runner-up position, 0.501 of a second back. ... Gordy Gundaker challenged his brother for the lead with 10 laps to go, before finishing third at his home track. ... Brian Shirley advanced seven positions and finished fourth. ... Making a rare Late Model start, modified standout Mike Harrison, piloting Steve Lampley's No. 33, led laps 2-14 before being overtaken by the Gundaker brothers and fading to finish sixth. ... Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa finished ninth and clinched this third career MLRA series championship. ... Kolby Vandenbergh of Ashland, Ill., gained six spots and finished eighth, officially securing the 2022 MLRA Rookie of the Year honors. ... Polesitter Austin Vincent led lap one before retiring on lap 24 and finishing 20th. ... Friday's feature, the 23rd race of the MLRA season, was slowed by three cautions and lasted 21 minutes, with 19 competitors completing all 30 laps. ... Mod ace Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Ky., was 24th in his series debut. ... The MLRA season concludes with Saturday’s $7,000-to-win, $600-to-start finale.
On the move: Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., started 13th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Trevor Gundaker's Reid Millard-owned Black Diamond chassis is powered by a Pro Power Racing engine and sponsored by Diamond Pet Foods, Bee Seen Signs, Acola Coffee Company, La Dolce Vita Italian Restaurant, World Wide Technology, Shubert Design Furniture, Prison Brews Brew Pub and Millard Family Chapels.
Points chase: After Tri-City Friday: 1. *Chad Simpson (4,515); 2. Kolby Vandenbergh (4,095); 3. Daniel Hilsabeck (3,690); 4. Steve Stultz (3,005); 5. Johnny Scott (2,635). *Clinched championship
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 63°F
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Trevor Gundaker
Time: 15.047 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Vincent
Heat race winners: Austin Vincent, Gordy Gundaker, Mike Harrison, Billy Moyer
Consolation race winners: Jeff Herzog, Rickey Frankel
Provisional starters: Steve Stultz, Kaeden Cornell
Editor's note: Adds Trevor Gundaker's engine builder

Feature lineup

Row 1: Vincent, Harrison
Row 2: G. Gundaker, Moyer
Row 3: T. Gundaker, Thompson
Row 4: Chad Simpson, Burgtorf
Row 5: Martin, Schlenk
Row 6: Shirley, Huston
Row 7: Feger, Vandenbergh
Row 8: Reed, Jackson Jr.
Row 9: Herzog, Frankel
Row 10: Hilsabeck, Nicely
Row 11: Diveley, Willard
Row 12: Stultz, Cornell
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information