Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 00:23:50

Sponsor 743
May 7
East Alabama Motor Speedway,
Phenix City, AL
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Jimmy Thomas Memorial) - $10,053
Information provided by: Staff reports (last updated May 24, 10:57 pm)
Overton outduels Winger for $10,053 at EAMS
Jimmy Thomas Memorial
  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Ashton Winger
  3. Michael Page
  4. Garrett Smith
  5. Carson Ferguson
  6. Pearson Lee Williams
  7. Austin Horton
  8. Sam Seawright
  9. Tim McCreadie
  10. Wil Herrington
  11. Chad Thrash
  12. Joseph Joiner
  13. Bo Slay
  14. J.R. Moseley
  15. Joe Denby
  16. Payton Freeman
  17. Cla Knight
  18. Dylan Knowles
  19. Jordy Nipper
  20. Shane Clanton
  21. Ricky Weiss
  22. Dalton Cook
presented by
What won the race: Taking the lead with an inside move in turn two on lap 19, Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., paced the final 34 laps and cruised to win Saturday's Jimmy Thomas Memorial feature at East Alabama Motor Speedway, topping the Schaeffer's Spring Nationals field and collecting $10,053.
Quotable: "Hats off to everybody at EAMS, you know I love racing here. If they wouldn't have done that (worked the track surface), the first 20 laps would've been no good," Overton said."I think everybody back here knows how good this racetrack is, so we just want to see it do its best."
Key notes: The victory is the seventh of Overton's career with the Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals, advancing him to second on the tour's all-time win list. ... Moving into second place with a turn one slide job on the lap 39 restart, Ashton Winger of Senoia, Ga., kept pace with Overton in the closing laps, but settled for the runner-up position, 1.088 seconds back. ... Inheriting third position on the final restart with three laps to go, Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., made it an all Georgia-native podium. ... Spring Nationals series point leader Carson Ferguson of Concord, N.C., finished fifth. ... After stopping and causing the second caution flag on lap seven, 18th-starting Pearson Lee Williams of Dublin, Ga., rebounded to finish sixth. ... Leading the first 18 laps from the pole, Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., suffered a flat left-rear tire while running third on lap 50 and finished ninth after changing it. ... After running as high as fourth place in the early laps, Jordy Nipper of Gray, Ga., suffered mechanical problems on lap 24 and finished 19th. ... After making a bold seventh-to-fourth move on the lap seven restart, Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., made heavy contact with Ricky Weiss of Headingley, Manitoba, multiple times, including during yellow flag conditions. Both drivers sustained damage and saw their races end on lap seven, relegating them to finish 20th and 21st. ... Saturday's feature, the first visit to the Phenix City, Ala., 3/8-mile in miniseries existence, was slowed by four cautions and lasted 32 minutes, with nine competitors completing all 53 laps.
On the move: Ashton Winger of Senoia, Ga., started 15th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Overton’s Wells Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Race Engine and sponsored by CrossFit Overton, E-Z-Go, Big Dog Stump & Tree, R.W. Powell Construction, Angry Elephant Tattoos & Piercings, Convenient Lube, Dirt Mafia, Allstar Performance, Penske Racing Shocks, Hoosier by Brian and Topnotch Kustom Koncepts.
Points chase: After East Alabama: 1. Carson Ferguson (1,486); 2. Payton Freeman (1,442); 3. Cla Knight (1,438); 4. Jensen Ford (868); 5. Brandon Overton (770).
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Tim McCreadie
Time: 15.652 seconds
Polesitter: Tim McCreadie
Heat race winners: Tim McCreadie, Brandon Overton, Michael Page
Consolation race winners: J.R. Moseley
Provisional starters: Cla Knight, Joe Denby
Next series race: May 27, Lavonia Speedway (Lavonia, GA) $4,053
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McCreadie, Overton
Row 2: Page, Smith
Row 3: Ferguson, Weiss
Row 4: Horton, Seawright
Row 5: Herrington, Clanton
Row 6: Nipper, Joiner
Row 7: Freeman, Knowles
Row 8: Winger, Cook
Row 9: Thrash, Williams
Row 10: Moseley, Slay
Row 11: Knight, Denby

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information