Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/14/2024 00:05:18

Sponsor 743
September 12
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: WISSOTA special events (non-touring) (John Seitz Memorial) - $9,200
Information provided by: Track and watchfye.tv reports (last updated September 13, 8:56 am)
Canadian scores repeat at John Seitz Memorial
John Seitz Memorial
  1. Aaron Turnbull
  2. A.J. Diemel
  3. Jesse Glenz
  4. Casey Meyer
  5. Jeffrey Massingill
  6. Chad Mahder
  7. Cole Searing
  8. Brad Seng
  9. Joey Pederson
  10. Dave Mass
  11. Cole Schill
  12. Ryan Mikkelson
  13. Shawn Meyer
  14. Kevin Robertson
  15. Josh Skorczewski
  16. Brody Troftgruben
  17. Ryan Corbett
  18. Scott Ward
  19. Bryce Sward
  20. Trent Grager
  21. Dan Dowling
  22. Don Shaw
  23. Dustin Strand
  24. Jeff Provinzino
  25. Dan Dowling
  26. Chad Becker
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Aaron Turnbull barely held off A.J. Diemel's late-race charge.
What won the race: Repeating his 2019 victory, Aaron Turnbull of Estevan, Sasketchewan, went by A.J. Diemel on the 68th lap and fought off Diemel's last-ditch bid at the finish to win the 14th annual John Seitz Memorial on Saturday at River Cities Speedway. Turnbull also turned back challenges from Jesse Glenz and Jeffrey Massingill in collecting $9,200.
Quotable: "I'm just the lucky one that gets to drive it," Turnbull said thanking supporters. "The thing's just a dream. I thought we were a third-place car for the first half, but I guess we had enough at the end. ... this is awesome."
Key notes: Turnbull is the race's first back-to-back winner. ... He made just three 2020 starts before the weekend because of coronavirus restrictions and will be required to quarantine two weeks when he returns to Canada. ... Lapped traffic hampered A.J. Diemel's last-lap bid to regain the lead as he fell 0.138 seconds shy in diving inside Turnbull at the flagstand. ... Deimel, who led laps 24-67, captured the $920 Race of Champions victory but fell short of his attempt at becoming the first three-time Seitz Memorial winner. ... Besides the lap-33 fuel stop, among other cautions were for Jeff Provinzino's spin just after the fuel stop and Cole Schill's lap-66 spin after contact with Dustin Strand, who officials sent to the tail. ... Strand had a rollover accident in turn four on lap 70, but he wasn't hurt. ... Early leader Don Shaw (laps 1-23) got too high in turn four on lap 74 for the final caution. ... One of WISSOTA's richest races pays tribute to the late Bemidji, Minn., driver.
On the move: Jeffrey Massingill of Keewatin, Minn., started 23rd and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Turnbull’s MB Customs Race Car is powered by a Millar Auto Machine powerplant and sponsored by Mack Auction, Sun Tubular Testing Services, Mars Race Cars and Quick Rescue Roof.
Points chase: Dustin Strand captured the River Cities title with five victories.
Current weather: Few Clouds, 61°F
Car count: 49
Polesitter: Aaron Turnbull
Dash winner: Aaron Turnbull
Heat race winners: Jesse Glenz, Dave Mass, Casey Meyer, Joey Pederson, Don Shaw
Consolation race winners: Jeff Provinzino, Tom Corcoran
Provisional starters: Chad Becker, Trent Grager
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Turnbull, Shaw
Row 2: Glenz, Mass
Row 3: C. Meyer, Troftgruben
Row 4: Pederson, Mikkelson
Row 5: S. Meyer, Diemel
Row 6: Dowling, Corbett
Row 7: Strand, C. Schill
Row 8: Searing, Robertson
Row 9: Provinzino, Corcoran
Row 10: Ward, Mahder
Row 11: Seng, Skorczewski
Row 12: Massingill, Sward
Row 13: Becker, Grager

Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information