Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt

Editor's note: DirtonDirt.com's new DirtWire feature is a collection of quick-hitting tidbits from around the Dirt Late Model world:
July 1412:24 PM ET
Posted by DirtonDirt.com staff

Hillbilly 100 returns to Tyler County

Zach Yost

The Hillbilly 100 is returning to Tyler County Speedway, the track announced today.

For the first time since 2009, when the Middlebourne, W.Va., oval ended a 12-year run hosting one of America’s longest running dirt races, Tyler County Speedway will again play host to the Carl Short-promoted Labor Day weekend event that’s woven into the fabric of West Virginia’s long racing heritage.

The 48th Hillbilly 100, set for Sept. 3-4 and highlighted by Sunday’s $25,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event, returns to the quarter-mile fairgrounds track that hosted the race from 1998-’09. Only the legendary Pennsboro (W.Va.) Speedway has hosted the event more.

I-77 Raceway Park in Ripley, Va., held the event the past four years, but recent flooding that personally affected I-77 promoter Kenney Newhouse triggered the event’s relocation. Before I-77 Raceway Park’s four-year stint, the 2011 event — scheduled for Portsmouth (Ohio) Raceway Park — was rained out and the 2010 version was held at the now-closed West Virginia Motor Speedway in Mineral Wells.

“Tyler County Speedway was my first choice upon reaching the decision to relocate this season,” said Short, who thanked I-77’s Newhouse and its fans. “(Tyler County is) second to none when it comes to racing action as well as the camping and atmosphere.”

Tyler County’s facilities have undergone a variety of improvements since its previous Hillbilly 100 including new lighting, additional seating and a new pit tower.

Previous Hillbilly 100 winners at Tyler County are Davey Johnson of Latrobe, Pa. (1999-’00), Steve Shaver (’98), Donnie Moran (’01), Billy Moyer (’02), Chub Frank (’03), Mike Marlar (’04), Clint Smith (’05), Earl Pearson Jr. (’06), Eddie Carrier Jr. (’07), Jimmy Owens (’08) and Ray Cook, who pocketed $41,000 for his ’09 victory.

Besides the Super Late Model action, the weekend includes a $4,000-to-win event for steel-block engine Late Models, a $5,000-to-win Crate Late Model event and action in several other divisions.

Sponsor 896
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728