Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Whitwell continues control of Tucson action

March 23, 2014, 10:07 am
From series and track reports
R.C. Whitwell heads to victory at Tucson International Raceway. (photosbyshana.net)
R.C. Whitwell heads to victory at Tucson International Raceway. (photosbyshana.net)

TUCSON, Ariz. (March 22) – R.J. Whitwell added another hometown victory to his rapidly expanding resume, topping Saturday night’s Championship Dirt Motorsports Super Late Model Series Presented by RaJin Racewear feature at Tucson International Raceway.

The young driver from Tucson, Ariz., controlled the 30-lap distance, beating Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., to the finish line for the $1,200 score. | Slideshow

It was Whitwell’s fourth special-event triumph at Tucson since he hooked up with car owner Jeff Manka late last season. His biggest came earlier this year, on Jan. 11, when he became the first Arizona driver to win during the National Dirt Racing League-sanctioned Winter Extreme mini-series.

Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., finished third, followed by John Cornell and Bud Grossenbacher, both of Phoenix, Ariz.

Notes: Whitwell’s Jeff Manka-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Affordable Powder Coating, MDM Accenting Services, Site Lite Mag Laser and Sunoco Race Fuels. … Whitwell won four CDM events at Tucson last season on his way to the series championship, including paydays of $5,000 and $2,500 in the tour’s season-ending doubleheader Nov. 30 and Dec. 1. … Joey Moriarty of Phoenix, Ariz., who finished sixth in the CDM feature, won the evening’s companion CDM open-wheel Modified feature. … The next CDM Super Late Model Series event is on April 19 at Tucson.

Championship Dirt Motorsports Super Late Model Series: (1) R.C. Whitwell, (2) Don Shaw, (3) Lonnie Parker, (4) John Cornell, (5) Bud Grossenbacher, (6) Joey Moriarty, (7) Sean Bray, (8) Craig Parker, (9) Dana Fite, (10) James Lange, (11) Bill Archibald, (12) Marshall Miles, (13) Nita Deetz, (14) Brad Williams, (15) Greg Jelvik. Heat winners (among 15 cars): Moriarty, Shaw.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728