Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Canadian grabs Total Seal win in Arizona

October 15, 2011, 10:56 am
From track reports

TUCSON, Ariz. (Oct. 14) – Making the most of a 2,000-mile trip, Canadian driver Ricky Weiss scored a $1,000 victory Friday night in the first event of a doubleheader weekend for the Total Seal Late Model Dirt Racing Series at USA Raceway.

Weiss of Winnipeg, Manitoba, who already wrapped up the Northern LateModel Racing Association championship in his home region, started from the pole of Friday’s race and scored the victory over 13th-starting Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz.

Terry Belcher Jr. of Phoenix, Ariz., was third with El Segundo, Calif., driver Nick Bartels fourth and Joey Moriarty of Glendale, Ariz., fifth.

Weiss’s long trip to Tucson is in preparation for January’s Wild West Shootout mini-series at the 3/8-mile racetrack. The sixth annual event includes six races Jan. 14-22.

Notes: Weiss drives a Victory Circle Chassis with sponsorship from Derrick's Sandblasting, Spectrum Coatings and Allied Roofing. ... Weiss picked up four victories on the NLRA tour this year on his way to his first series title. ... Weiss’s victory ended Ricky Thornton Jr.’s four-race win streak on the Total Seal tour. ... The series concludes its doubleheader weekend with another $1,000 event Saturday night.

Total Seal @ USA: (1) Ricky Weiss, (2) Lonnie Parker Jr., (3) Terry Belcher Jr., (4) Nick Bartels, (5) Joey Moriarty, (6) Keith Noyes, (7) Antony Madrid, (8) Garrett Alberson, (9) Dean Moore, (10) Jeremy Thornton, (11) James Chaves Jr., (12) Ricky Thornton Jr., (13) Bud Grossenbacher, (14) Jimmy Jelvik, (15) Bucky Andrews, (16) Mike Balcaen, (17) David Deetz, (18) Jerry Fincher, (19) Chad Ayers, (20) Karl Tipton. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Weiss, Grossenbacher, Thornton. Consolation race winner: Jelvik.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728