Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Southern Oregon Speedway

Mayea triumphs in Battle of the Border opener

September 24, 2011, 7:47 am
From track reports

MEDFORD, Ore. (Sept. 23) — Rob Mayea of Bend, Ore., stretched his margin as the winningest driver in series history Friday at Southern Oregon Speedway with his 11th triumph on the Northwest I-5 DIRTcar Late Model Series.

The seventh-starting Mayea got the point upon race-long leader Jon DeBeneditti's departure after 27 laps, leading the final three circuits.

Outside front-row starter and dash winner Andy Obertello of Hollister, Calif., earned his best Oregon finish with a runner-up performance while 10th-starting Mark Carrell of Redmond, Ore., was third. Series points leader Jeremy Shank of Salem, Ore., and Jimmy Whisler of Otis, Ore., rounded out the top five finishers in the Battle of the Border opener.

Action continues Saturday with a $2,500-to-win feature that wraps up the 10th series season.

Battle of the Border: (1) Rob Mayea, (2) Andy Obertello, (3) Mark Carrell, (4) Jeremy Shank, (5) Jimmy Whisler, (6) Trent Elliott, (7) Jon Kaufman, (8) Trevor Glaser, (9) Mike George, (10) Jimmy Schram, (11) Jer Deubert, (12) Dustin Dittman, (13) Blaine Taylor, (14) Lisa Stroup, (15) Shaun Mayea, (16) Jon DeBenedetti, (17) Derick Young, (18) Paul Culp, (19) Rob Fitzsimmons, (20) Steve Moore, (21) Tony Brakeall. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Shank, 13.858 seconds. Heat race winners: Moore, Papenhausen, Obertello, DeBenedetti. Dash winner: Obertello. Consolation winner: Dittman.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728