Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Drake outruns Bartels in Copper on Dirt finale

February 20, 2011, 12:03 pm
From track reports
Steve Drake stands tall on the USA Raceway podium. (thesportswire.net)
Steve Drake stands tall on the USA Raceway podium. (thesportswire.net)

TUCSON, Ariz. (Feb. 19) — Steve Drake of San Luis Obispo, Calif., outran fellow front-row starter Nick Bartels of El Segundo, Calif., in the Late Model portion of the fifth annual Copper on Dirt finale on Saturday at USA Raceway.

Drake, who started outside the front row, earned $2,000 for a victory co-sanctioned by the West Coast Late Model Shootout and Total Seal Late Model Dirt Racing Series. | Slideshow

Bartels, winner of Friday's opener, started on the pole Saturday but settled for a second-place finish ahead of hometown driver R.C. Whitwell, who spun early in the 30-lapper but rallied back to finsh third. Clay Daly of Watsonville, Calif., and Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., rounded out the top five.

Other division winners at the early-season special were Whitwell (USRA Western modifieds), Shane Stewart (Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series) and Kyle Larson (midgets).

Copper on Dirt: (1) Steve Drake, (2) Nick Bartels, (3) R.C. Whitwell, (4) Clay Daly, (5) Lonnie Parker Jr., (6) Ricky Thornton Jr., (7) Mike Kirby, (8) Dean Moore, (9) Mike Balcaen, (10) Jason Papich, (11) Rob Mayea, (12) Brad Williams, (13) Paul Banghart, (14) Mark Carrell, (15) James Chavez Jr., (16) Tony Toste, (17) Anthony Madrid, (18) John Cornell, (19) Wes Hall, (20) Bud Grossenbacher. Heat race winners (among 22 cars): Whitwell, Kirby, Madrid. Consolation winner: Banghart.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728