Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Petaluma Speedway

Maselli Classic gives Silva four straight victories

September 19, 2010, 1:25 pm
From correspondent reports
John Silva (59) battles with Jeff Decker at Petaluma. (raceimages.net)
John Silva (59) battles with Jeff Decker at Petaluma. (raceimages.net)

PETALUMA, Calif. (Sept. 18) — John Silva of Fremont, Calif., a former touring racer, continued his late-season hot streak at Petaluma Speedway by capturing the West Coast Late Model Shootout event. Silva earned $2,000 for leading all 35 laps of the 31st annual M. Maselli & Sons Classic. | Slideshow

Track champion Jeff Decker of Morgan Hill, Calif., finished second followed by Mike Kirby of Torrance, Calif. Anthony Restad of Santa Rosa, Calif., finished fourth and Clay Daly of Watsonville, Calif., rounded out the top five. Fast qualifier Rick Shafer of Vacaville, Calif., finished ninth.

Silva's victory gave him four straight victories at Petaluma.

Notes: Silva's No. 59 is unsponsored. ... Bobby Hogge III scratched from the main event after breaking a transmission. ... The top three drivers in Petaluma's weekly points — Jeff Decker, Anthony Restad and Silva — finished among the top five. ... West Coast Shootout competitors wrap up the season Oct. 8-9 at Bakersfield (Calif.) Speedway for the Budweiser Nationals.

M. Maselli & Sons Classic: (1) John Silva, (2) Jeff Decker, (3) Mike Kirby, (4) Anthony Restad, (5) Clay Daly, (6) Robert Sanders, (7) John Lowrey, (8) Dean DeVolder, (9) Rick Shafer, (10) Richard Papenhausen, (11) Steve Drake, (12) Nick Bartels, (13) Johnny Cardoza, (14) Dennis Souza, (15) Rod Arnold, (16) Tommy Malcolm, (17) Dino Napier, (18) Chevy McGinnis, (19) Steve Johnson. Scratched: Bobby Hogge III. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Shafer, 14.83 seconds. Heat race winners: Napier, Malcolm, Arnold. Dash winner: Silva. Consolation winner: Hogge.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728