Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Electric City Speedway

Electric City sparks Diede to first Challenge victory

July 30, 2010, 4:26 am
From correspondent and series reports

GREAT FALLS, Mont. (July 29) — Polesitter Brian Diede of Huron, S.D., led all but one lap Thursday at Electric City Speedway for his first career victory on the WISSOTA-sanctioned Dart Challenge Series. Diede earned $3,000 as the tour kicked off its three-race Western Swing through Montana and Wyoming.

Outside front-row starter Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., slipped by Diede in traffic on the 10th lap, but Diede regained the point and led the rest of the way.

"The long trip out here really paid off tonight," Diede said in victory lane. "Pat is one of the best, so racing with him early was awesome and towards the end I just dialed in some four-wheel brake and ... the car felt pretty good.

"This is my first ever Challenge Series win and if feels great. I guess if I have to come out to Montana to do it, that's fine by me."

Chad Becker of Aberdeen, S.D. rallied from his 15th starting spot to finish second while John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., rallied from 11th to third and took the series points lead.

Curt Gelling of Aberdeen, S.D., and Eddie Kirchoff of Gillette, Wyo., rounded out the top five while Doar settled for sixth at the 3/10-mile oval.

Notes: Diede’s Tesar-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Thunderbird Liquor, Ken’s Glass and Mirror and Gamer’s Casino. ... John Kaanta was awarded the $250 Keizer Aluminum Wheels product certificate. ... Brian Diede added another $100 to his total winnings courtesy of Joe Provo Race Wear by winning in dash. ... Chad Becker advanced 13 positions to pick up the Lou Fegers Hard Charger award. ... The tour continues Friday at Gallatin Speedway in Belgrade, Mont., and Saturday at Gillette (Wyo.) Thunder Speedway. Both pay $3,000 to the winner.

Dart Challenge @ Electric City: (1) Brian Diede, (2) Chad Becker, (3) John Kaanta, (4) Curt Gelling, (5) Eddie Kirchoff, (6) Pat Doar, (7) Lance Matthees, (8) Jake Redetzke, (9) John Bey, (10) Jim Zaremski, (11) Scott Anderson, (12) Kelly Hample, (13) Josh Adams, (14) Rory Minster, (15) John Lighthizer, (16) Dan Henrikson, (17) Darryn Waldo, (18) David McDonald, (19) Rock Degele, (20) Jordan Yaggy, (21) Jody Kropp, (22) Paul Mueller, (23) Ed Kirchoff, (24) Vern Hill, (25) Don Shaw. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): McDonald, Doar, Diede. Consolation winner: Matthees. Dash winner: Diede.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728