Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Black Hills Speedway

Henrikson wins at Black Hills after Kirchoff's woes

May 15, 2010, 11:23 am
From track and series reports
Dan Henrikson heads for victory at Black Hills. (westernwandererphoto.com)
Dan Henrikson heads for victory at Black Hills. (westernwandererphoto.com)

RAPID CITY, S.D. (May 14) — Hometown Dan Henrikson captured Friday's Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series feature at Black Hills Speedway after race-dominating Eddie Kirchoff broke a wheel and got into the turn-one wall late in the race.

Kirchoff, of Gillette, Wyo., had a half-track margin on Henrikson and was threatening to lap competitors in the top five before the center tore out of his right rear wheel and he got into the concrete wall, tearing the spoiler off his car. | Slideshow

The third-starting Henrikson inherited the lead after the race's lone caution and led the rest of the way for the $1,200 victory. Kirchoff was going for his third straight victory after back-to-back triumphs the previous weekend at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park.

Eric Mass of Rapid City finished second followed by John Bey of Sturgis, S.D., Rapid City's Brent Nielsen (who started 10th) and Ed Kirchoff, Eddie's father.

The night's action was marred by a two-car crash in a heat race involving J.T. Botts of Broomfield, Colo., and Shad Karna of Custer, S.D., as they got into the concrete wall after tanging on the backstretch, according to the Rapid City Journal. After a lengthy extrication, Botts was placed on a backboard and taken to Rapid City Regional Hospital as a precautionary measure. Botts was released with no serious injuries.

CLMA @ Black Hills: (1) Dan Henrikson, (2) Eric Mass, (3) John Bey, (4) Brent Nielson, (5) Ed Kirchoff, (6) Matt Sheesley, (7) Jason Schierkolk, (8) Dave Garmann, (9) Lynn Amick, (10) Nate Beacham, (11) Morris Oberle, (12) Mike Stadel, (13) Chris Johnson, (14) Eddie Kirchoff, (15) Scott Lewis, (16) Roy Spielman, (17) Scott Anderson, (18) Roger Mohns. Scratched: J.T. Botts, Shad Karna. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Eddie Kirchoff, Henrikson, Anderson. Dash winner: Eddie Kirchoff.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728