Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Canyon Speedway Park

Parker wins at Canyon for season's first victory

April 25, 2010, 3:40 pm
From series reports

PEORIA, Ariz. (April 24) — Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., overtook polesitter Mike Tahtinen of Casa Grande, Ariz., on the 17th of 25 laps and led the rest of the way at Canyon Raceway for his first Total Seal Southwest Dirt Racing Association victory of the season and series-leading 59th of his career.

Parker and Tahtinen dueled side-by-side several laps through the middle of the race before a low-side move put Parker out front for good and he pulled away for his first victory since Nov. 1 at USA Race Park in Tucson.

Phoenix drivers Cory Hemphill and Joey Moriarty also dispatched of Tahtinen to finish second and third while Tahtinen and fellow Casa Grande driver Art Lacy, who started 12th, rounded out the top five.

Notes: Jerry Fincher, who finished seventh, was driving the No. 37N car normally driven by John Romero. ... Karl Tipton gained the most positions with a 21st-to-ninth run. ... Several cautions slowed the action, first for a Brad Whitfield-Tommy Hussak III tangle in turn two on the fourth lap. ... Anthony Madrid slowed on the seventh lap with suspension problems but returned to the action three laps down. ... Brad Williams clipped an infield tire barrier in turn four on the ninth lap, ending his night. ... John Cornell and Bruce Duckett spun in turn four on the 14th lap for the final caution.

SWDRA @ Canyon: (1) Lonnie Parker Jr., (2) Cory Hemphill, (3) Joey Moriarty, (4) Mike Tahtinen, (5) Art Lacy, (6) Ricky Thornton, (7) Jerry Fincher, (8) James Chavez, (9) Karl Tipton, (10) Keith McKinney, (11) Tommy Hussak III, (12) Anthony Madrid, (13) Bruce Duckett, (14) Keith Noyes, (15) Frank Waskiewitz, (16) Andy Rudy, (17) John Cornell, (18) Brad Williams, (19) Brad Whitfield, (20) Jimmy Jelvig, (21) Justin Thornton. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Parker, Tahtinen, Moriarty.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728