Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Canyon Speedway Park

Thornton grabs first career victory at Canyon

September 8, 2009, 3:12 pm
From series reports

PEORIA, Ariz. (Sept. 5-6) — Anthony Madrid of Phoenix, Ariz., grabbed his third series victory of the season while Jeremy Thornton of Tucson, Ariz., earned his first-ever Late Model victory in Labor Day weekend action at Canyon Speedway Park. Both drivers earned $1,000 for the Southwest DIRTcar Racing Association victories.

In Saturday's weekend opener, the polesitting Madrid took the lead from the outset and led all the way in the caution-free event. With his pursuers hung up in lapped traffic, Madrid cruised to an easy victory. Five-time SWDRA champion Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., finished second followed by Thornton, Brad Williams of Tucson and Bruce Duckett of Phoenix. Jerry Fincher started 12th and moved up to finish seventh.

In Sunday's weekend finale, the third-starting Thornton overtook Joey Moriarty on the seventh lap and held off a late charge from Madrid for the victory. Thornton's first Late Model victory came in a team car of Parker formerly driven by Lonnie Parker Sr. Parker was third on Sunday followed by Williams and Moriarty, who started on the pole. Art Lacy, driving the No. 35 previously driven by Wes Hall, was sixth.

Sept. 5 feature: (1) Anthony Madrid, (2) Lonnie Parker Jr., (3) Jeremy Thornton, (4) Brad Williams, (5) Bruce Duckett, (6) Joey Moriarty, (7) Jerry Fincher, (8) Keith Noyes, (9) Mike Tahtinen, (10) Jamie Throckmorton, (11) John Romero, (12) Keith McKinney, (13) Doug Shell, (14) Brad Whitfield.

Sept. 6 feature: (1) Jeremy Thornton, (2) Anthony Madrid, (3) Lonnie Parker Jr., (4) Brad Williams, (5) Joey Moriarty, (6) Art Lacy, (7) Brad Whitfield, (8) Keith Noyes, (9) Jamie Throckmorton, (10) Keith McKinney, (11) Doug Shell, (12) Andy Rudy, (13) Jerry Fincher, (14) Bruce Duckett, (15) John Romero, (16) Mike Tahtinen.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728