Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Gillette Thunder Speedway

Kirchoff takes Gillette's WDRA-CLMA opener

August 22, 2009, 5:14 am
From series reports
Eddie Kirchoff races to victory at Gillette. (westernwandererphoto.com)
Eddie Kirchoff races to victory at Gillette. (westernwandererphoto.com)

GILLETTE, Wyo. (Aug. 21) — Hometown driver Eddie Kirchoff rallied from his eight starting spot at Gillette Thunder Speedway to earn his second straight victory co-sanctioned by a pair of Colorado-based tours. Kirchoff earned $1,200 for the first of two weekend events at the third-mile oval in northeast Wyoming. | Slideshow

Erik Elmer of Buffalo, Wyo., advanced two positions to finish second followed by third-starting Jason Schierkolk of Casper, Wyo. A pair of Rapid City, S.D., drivers, Chris Johnson and Eric Mass, rounded out the top five in the event co-sanctioned by the Western Dirt Racing Association and Colorado Late Model Association.

Notes: Kirchoff's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Dagwood Graphics. ... Kirchoff notched his third career WDRA victory and 10th with CLMA, where he won the 2007 title. ... Entering the race, Dave Garmann of Milliken, Colo., leads CLMA points while Dean Moore of Grand Junction, Colo., leads WDRA points. ... The tours wrap up the weekend with another event Saturday at Gillette.

WDRA-CLMA @ Gillette: (1) Eddie Kirchoff, (2) Erik Elmer, (3) Jason Schierkolk, (4) Chris Johnson, (5) Eric Mass, (6) Rick Lieser, (7) Paul Mueller, (8) Dean Moore, (9) Curt Daniels, (10) John Bey, (11) Dave Garmann, (12) Kelly Hample, (13) Dan Henrikson, (14) John Kuchar, (15) Scott Anderson, (16) Brent Nielson, (17) Ed Kirchoff, (18) Morris Oberle, (19) Matt Sheesley, (20) Steve Lewis, (21) Ben Mickelson, (22) Scott Lewis, (23) Jason Davis, (24) Scott Cimfl. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): C. Johnson, Lieser, Henrikson, Eddie Kirchoff. Dash winner: Eddie Kirchoff: Consolation winner: Scott Lewis.

Correction: Updates with name of 21st-place finisher.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728