Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sunset Speedway Park

Walters gets by Sell, rides off into Sunset

August 15, 2009, 1:22 pm
By Craig Cassell
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Greg Walters won at Sunset Speedway Park. (raceimages.net)
Greg Walters won at Sunset Speedway Park. (raceimages.net)

BANKS, Ore. (Aug. 14) — Hometown driver Greg Walters overtook Russ Sell of Brownsville, Ore., amid traffic with about 15 laps remaining at Sunset Speedway for a $1,500 victory on the Northwest I-5 DIRTcar Late Model Tour. Walters won his fifth career series victory. | Slideshow

Sell settled for second at the quarter-mile oval while Jason Wines of Lebanon, Ore., rallied from 11th to finish third. Billy Workman Jr. and Jeremy Shank rounded out the top five in a race slowed by a single lap-eight caution for debris.

Notes: Randy Neal won his heat race, but was caught up in a wreck during the dash which forced him to scratch with a broken rear end. ... Seven drivers using Crate engines competed in the feature including the third-place finisher and hard charger Jason Wines. ... Series points leader John Duty of Portland, Ore., hit the wall as he concluded his qualifying lap when a rock got wedged between the right-front spindle. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Brian Cronk, Rob Campos, and Jimmy Whisler. ... The series returns to action Sept. 3 with the lone series event at Skagit Speedway in Burlington, Wash., before a Sept. 5-6 doubleheader at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Ore.

Tribute to Doug Walters: (1) Greg Walters, (2) Russ Sell, (3) Jason Wines, (4) Billy Workman Jr., (5) Jeremy Shank, (6) Rob Ireland, (7) Mark Carrell, (8) Rob Mayea, (9) Tim Goodwin, (10) John Campos, (11) Mark Thompson, (12) John Duty, (13) Dan Smith, (14) Steve Moore, (15) Jerry Schram, (16) Jack Marontate, (17) Mike Miller, (18) Joey Tanner, (19) Jimmy Schram, (20) Bretty James, (21) Matt Michelli. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Shank, 14.8 seconds. Heat race winners: Workman, R. Sell, Neal, Shank. Dash winner: Shank. Consolation winner: Duty.

I-5 Tour points

(Unofficial through Aug. 14)
1. John Duty – 1034
2. Jeremy Shank – 1017
3. Mike Miller – 943
4. Rob Mayea – 872
5. Billy Workman Jr. – 850
6. Rob Campos – 666
7. Ryan Gerig – 652
8. Brett McCutcheon - 623
9. Jimmy Whisler – 606
10. Mark Carrell – 602
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728