Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-76 Speedway

Stadel returns to Colorado for I-76 victory

June 21, 2009, 5:30 pm
By Michael Condit and Kim Condit
Western Dirt Racing Association
Mike Stadel tunes up at I-76 Speedway. (Ron Olds)
Mike Stadel tunes up at I-76 Speedway. (Ron Olds)

FORT MORGAN, Colo. (June 20) — Getting his victory in Colorado in nearly two years, Mike Stadel of Rapid City, S.D., won from the pole position in a co-sanctioned race at I-76 Speedway. Stadel earned $1,200 in the event co-sanctioned by two Colorado-based tours, the Colorado Late Model Association and Western Dirt Racing Association. | Slideshow

Stadel was runner-up in CLMA points in 2007 when he won three events, including a June event in Fort Morgan.

Scott Cimfl of Arvada, Colo., winner of the season opener at I-76, finished a close second followed by Scott Lewis of Brighton, Colo., Craig Baukema of Elizabeth, Colo., and 11th-starting Dylan Schmer of Lingle, Wyo.

The race was slowed by three cautions in quick succession on laps eight and nine. Curt Daniels spun in turn three on the eighth lap, and debris from Bill Smith's car on the ninth lap brought out a second yellow. On the ensuing restart, Kerry Grandstaff spun out.

Notes: Stadel's Barry Wright Race Car has a Johnson Machine Engine and sponsorship from NAPA Auto Parts. ... Rain hit the track after hot laps and a rainbow appeared. The track forged ahead, getting the track packed again and starting hot laps again after the weather delay. ... Kimberly Horn brought out the only caution in the first heat when she lost her car's left-front tire. ... Steve Lewis had motor problems in hot laps and scratched from the feature. ... Dean Moore broke his car's drivetrain at the outset of the second heat and coasted to the infield, losing the pole position. He went to his backup car for the feature, starting on the tail and rallying to finish eighth. ... Oil pressure problems kept Jason Davis out of action in the main event. ... The CLMA and WDRA competitors take a break before reuniting Aug. 14-15 for two events at Sweetwater Speedway in Rock Springs, Wyo.

I-76 Speedway: (1) Mike Stadel, (2) Scott Cimfl, (3) Scott Lewis, (4) Craig Baukema, (5) Dylan Schmer, (6) Gary Dechant, (7) Curt Daniels, (8) Dean Moore, (9) Dave Garmann, (10) Ron Lengel, (11) Rick Lieser, (12) Kerry Grandstaff, (13) Jeff Meeker, (14) John Kuchar, (15) Bill Smith, (16) Kimberly Horn. Scratched: Jason Davis. Steve Lewis. Heat race winners (among 18 cars): Stadel, Lengel, Cimfl.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728