Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Marysville Raceway Park

Shannon tops Marysville for first series victory

June 9, 2009, 12:39 pm
By Bob Burbach
Marysville Raceway Park
Chris Shannon (32) battles with Ron Bartels (12). (raceimages.net)
Chris Shannon (32) battles with Ron Bartels (12). (raceimages.net)

MARYSVILLE, Calif. (June 6) — Chris Shannon won the 2008 Western Allstars DIRTcar Late Model Series championship, but the season was unsatisfying in that he didn't win a series event. He took care of that Saturday at Marysville Raceway Park.

The 42-year-old driver from Merced, Calif., led all 30 laps from his pole position for a $2,000 victory, his first-ever on the series. Shannon brought a car out of mothballs and raced to victory. | Slideshow

"This car has been sitting here for three years and I dusted it off," Shannon told the (Marysville) Appeal-Democrat about his choice to park his newer car. "She's staying, were going to run this one from now on."

Shannon fought off challenges from third-starting Ron Bartels of El Segundo, Calif., for the victory while Richard Papenhausen of Chico, Calif., finished third. Outside front-row starter Mike Johnson of Lompoc, Calif., was fourth and fast qualifier Nick Bartels, the runner-up's son, advanced four spots to finish ninth.

Notes: Shannon is sponsored by Shannon Pump Co. ... Ryan McDaniel of Yuba City, Calif., finished sixth as the highest-finishing local driver. ... Next up for the Western Allstars is a June 19-20 weekend at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, Calif., and Antioch (Calif.) Speedway.

Western Allstars @ Marysville: (1) Chris Shannon, (2) Ron Bartels, (3) Richard Papenhausen, (4) Mike Johnson, (5) Nick Bartels, (6) Ryan McDaniel, (7) Bobby Hogge IV, (8) Matt Micheli, (9) Paul Guglielmoni, (10) Robert Sanders, (11) Reldon Hatch, (12) John Johnson, (13) Ken Micheli, (14) Chevy McGinnis, (15) Johnny Malcolm, (16) Tom Arbogast, (17) Cort Dozier, (18) Clay Daly. Scratched: Jeff Decker. Fast qualifier (among 19 cars): N. Bartels, 15.144 seconds. Heat race winners: Malcolm, M. Johnson, Papenhausen. Dash winner: Shannon.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728