Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Hometown driver gets first SWDRA victory

June 8, 2009, 10:37 am
By M.J. Anderson
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
R.C. Whitwell celebrates his first Late Model victory. (dennisbrownfield.com)
R.C. Whitwell celebrates his first Late Model victory. (dennisbrownfield.com)

TUCSON, Ariz. (June 6) — Starting outside the front row, hometown driver R.C. Whitwell took the lead at the outset and never looked back at USA Raceway for his first career Late Model victory. A variety of spins and crashes slowed the early laps, but Whitwell, a veteran of modified racing, rolled to huge leads in racing to a $1,000 victory on the Southwest DIRTcar Racing Association.

Polesitter Brad Williams of Tucson finished second followed by ninth-starting Anthony Madrid of Phoenix, Ariz., in third. Five-time SWDRA champion Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., was fourth and Parker's teammate Jeremy Thornton of Tucson was fifth.

Notes: Bill Bartels and Ted Robinson tangled for a lap-11 caution. ... Tommy Hussak III advanced from his 14th starting spot to finish sixth. ... The Dairy Queen-sponsored series takes a break until a July 18 event at Prescott Valley (Ariz.) Raceway.

SWDRA @ USA Raceway: (1) R.C. Whitwell, (2) Brad Williams, (3) Anthony Madrid, (4) Lonnie Parker Jr., (5) Jeremy Thornton, (6) Tommy Hussak III, (7) Randy Carder, (8) Keith Noyes, (9) Jamie Throckmorton, (10) Bruce Duckett, (11) Joey Moriarty, (12) Brad Whitfield, (13) James Chavez, (14) Mike Clark, (15) Frank Waskiewicz, (16) Bill Bartels, (17) Ted Robinson, (18) Doug Shell, (19) Tom Campbell, (20) Charles Davis. Heat race winners: Parker, Moriarty, Madrid. Consolation winner: Noyes.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728