Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Gillette Thunder Speedway

Schierkolk breaks out with victory at Gillette

May 31, 2009, 7:47 am
From series and correspondent reports
Jason Schierkolks races to victory. (westernwandererphoto.com)
Jason Schierkolks races to victory. (westernwandererphoto.com)

GILLETTE, Wyo. (May 30) — Jason Schierkolk of Casper, Wyo., won at Gillette Thunder Speedway for his first career Super Late Model touring victory. Schierkolk earned $1,200 in the second event of a doubleheader weekend sanctioned by two Colorado-based tours, the Colorado Late Model Association and Western Dirt Racing Association. | Slideshow

“Opportunity knocked and this time I was at the door,” Schierkolk said. “We definitely had our A game on tonight."

Schierkolk, who started fifth, took the checkered flag just ahead of polesitter Kelly Hample of Billings, Mont. John Bey of Sturgis, S.D., Eric Mass of Rapid City, S.D., and former WDRA champion Dean Moore of Grand Junction, Colo., rounded out the top five. Hometown driver Eddie Kirchoff, who won Friday's opener and was unbeaten at Gillette going back to last summer, dropped out with a 20th-place finish after starting seventh and racing his way into the top five.

Notes: Schierkolk's GRT Race Car is sponsored by Plum Crazy Motorsports, Shirk's Enterprises, Bar-D Signs, Buzz Signs and Graphix. ... Schierkolk is a former champion in WISSOTA's Limited Late Model division. ... He's also a former Late Model champion at Casper (Wyo.) Speedway. ... WDRA and CLMA competitors head to Sweetwater Speedway in Rock Springs, Wyo., for the next co-sanctioned event on June 6.

WDRA-CLMA @ Gillette: (1) Jason Schierkolk, (2) Kelly Hample, (3) John Bey, (4) Eric Mass, (5) Dean Moore, (6) Ed Kirchoff, (7) Curt Daniels, (8) Dave Garmann, (9) Morris Oberle, (10) Jason Davis, (11) Matt Sheesley, (12) John Kuchar, (13) Scott Cimfl, (14) Steve Lewis, (15) Rick Lieser, (16) Dylan Schmer, (17) Kimberly Horn, (18) Danny Gwinnip, (19) Chris Johnson, (20) Eddie Kirchoff, (21) Dan Henrikson, (22) Brent Nielsen, (23) Scott Lewis. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): Hample, Henrikson, Scott Lewis. Dash winner: Hample.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728