Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Gillette Thunder Speedway

Eddie Kirchoff blitzes Gillette field for victory

May 30, 2009, 11:06 am
From series reports

GILLETTE, Wyo. (May 29) — Hometown driver Eddie Kirchoff roared from his sixth starting spot and into the lead on the second lap en route to a victory at Gillette Thunder Speedway co-sanctioned by the Western Dirt Racing Association and Colorado Late Model Association. Kirchoff earned $1,200 for the victory at the third-mile oval.

Chris Johnson of Spearfish, S.D., finished second followed by John Bey of Sturgis, S.D., in third. Track promoter Ed Kirchoff, the father of the winner, was fourth and Eric Mass of Rapid City, S.D., rounded out the top five.

A handful of cautions slowed the feature, including a five-car tangle with two laps remaining that ended with the cars of Duane Manning and J.T. Botts being towed off the track. Johnson hung with Kirchoff on the two-lap dash to the checkers, but Kirchoff wrapped up the victory in the first of two nights of WDRA-CLMA action at Gillette.

Notes: Kirchoff's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Jay Dickens engine and sponsorship from QTM and K&K Import Repair. ... Kirchoff lapped 10 cars before the first caution appeared. ... Kirchoff, the 2007 CLMA champion, notched his eighth career series victory. He's third on the all-time list behind Brett Hallmark (16 victories) and Kelly Boen (11). ... Jason Davis of Grand Junction, Colo., was the top-finishing Colorado driver in the event sanctioned by two Colorado-based organizations. ... Matt Sheesley of Rapid City, S.D., broke during hot laps and scratched for the night, but he's expected to compete in Saturday's action. ... Saturday's feature also pays $1,200 to the winner. ... As part of Saturday's festivities, racers will help raise money for the Make-A-Wish Foundation on behalf of a young girl with cancer.

WDRA-CLMA @ Gillette: (1) Eddie Kirchoff, (2) Chris Johnson, (3) John Bey, (4) Ed Kirchoff, (5) Eric Mass, (6) Jason Schierkolk, (7) Kelly Hample, (8) Scott Anderson, (9) Jason Davis, (10) Curt Daniels, (11) Rick Lieser, (12) Dave Garmann, (13) Erik Elmer, (14) Steve Lewis, (15) Morris Oberle, (16) Dean Moore, (17) Kimberly Horn, (18) Dylan Schmer, (19) Scott Cimfl, (20) Danny Gwinnup, (21) Duane Manning, (22) J.T. Botts. (23) Dan Hendrickson, (24) Scott Lewis, (25) Brent Nielsen, (26) John Kuchar. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Eddie Kirchoff, C. Johnson, Ed Kirchoff.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728