Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Parker overtakes Madrid for victory in Tucson

April 5, 2009, 7:56 am
By M.J. Anderson
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Lonnie Parker Jr. (8P) heads for the front. (yourracepictures.com)
Lonnie Parker Jr. (8P) heads for the front. (yourracepictures.com)

TUCSON, Ariz. (April 4) — Five-time series champion Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., overtook Anthony Madrid of Phoenix, Ariz., on a mid-race restart to grab his second Southwest DIRTCar Late Model Association victory of the season. The fifth-starting Parker earned $1,000 for his series-leading 56th career victory. | Slideshow

Madrid, who won last month in SWDRA action at Manzanita Speedway, settled for second after he inherited the lead from fellow modified ace R.C. Whitwell, who departed with ignition problems on the 12th lap.

California invader Nick Bartels finished third followed by hometown driver and polesitter Brad Williams. Bill Bartels, Nick's grandfather, rounded out the top five in the third race of the season on the Dairy Queen-sponsored circuit. Whitwell, who swept into the lead on the eighth lap with an outside move on Madrid, was listed 21st in the 23-car field.

Notes: Parker drives a GRT Race Car sponsored by Parker Concrete. ... Anthony Madrid has previously driven the Jeff Manka-owned as a No. 95 (the car number when it was driven by Mark Fowler). It was switched to No. 5m this time, the number Madrid typically runs in his modified. ... A lap-12 caution appeared when Brad Whitfield and Mike Clark made contact, spinning in turn four. ... Parker made his winning move on the outside when the race went back to green. ... Jerry Fincher and Wes Hall didn't start the feature. ... Art Lacy and Terry Belcher Jr. had mechanical problems in their heats but tagged the tail of the main event. ... SWDRA competitors head to Manzanita Speedway in Phoenix for an April 10 event as the track hosts its final weekend of racing. Track owners recently announced the land was sold and the venerable Southwest oval was closing.

SWDRA @ USA: (1) Lonnie Parker Jr., (2) Anthony Madrid, (3) Nick Bartels, (4) Brad Williams, (5) Bill Bartels, (6) Jeremy Thornton, (7) Joey Moriarty, (8) Mike Brigner, (9) Jamie Throckmorton, (10) Ted Robinson, (11) Keith Noyes, (12) Tommy Hussak III, (13) Adam Crippen, (14) Bruce Duckett, (15) Brad Whitfield, (16) Mike Clark, (17) Randy Carder, (18) John Romero, (19) Andy Rudy, (20) Mike Tahtinen, (21) R.C. Whitwell, (22) Art Lacy, (23) Terry Belcher Jr. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): N. Bartels, Madrid, Belcher.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728