Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Duck River Raceway Park

Cook cruises to $4,000 victory at Duck River

May 30, 2011, 9:39 am
From track reports
Ray Cook (53) heads for victory at Duck River. (photobyconnie.com)
Ray Cook (53) heads for victory at Duck River. (photobyconnie.com)

WHEEL, Tenn. (May 29) — Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., cruised to victory Sunday at Duck River Speedway, earning $4,000 in the Tennessee Super Series event. Cook led all the way in the 40-lap race that's part of the Jimmy Nowlin-promoter miniseries among three Middle Tennessee tracks. | Slideshow

Anthony Burroughs of Muscle Shoals, Ala., was second followed by Terry English of Benton, Ky. Corey Posey of Petersburg, Tenn., and Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., rounded out the top five at the quarter-mile oval.

Outside front-row starter Dustin Neat of Dunnville, Ky., fell from contention with a flat tire on the fifth lap. The only other caution appeared on the sixth lap when Tyler Landers cut down a tire.

Notes: Cook's D&R Motorsports MasterSbilt Race Car has a Race Engine Design powerplant and is sponsored by Hicks & Ingle Co. and PRC. ... Duck River's sixth-place Daniel Miller won Saturday's Tennessee Super Series event at Winchester (Tenn.) Speedway, earning $3,000 and taking the points lead. ... Tim Busha entered the weekend leading the miniseries points, but he finished 19th at Winchester. ... Tanner English started third but faded to finish ninth. ... The Tennessee Super Series returns to action June 4 at Thunderhill Raceway in Summertown, Tenn., for a $3,000-to-win event.

TSS @ Duck River: (1) Ray Cook, (2) Anthony Burroughs, (3) Terry English, (4) Corey Posey, (5) Riley Hickman, (6) Daniel Miller, (7) Josh Putnam, 8) Tony Morris, (9) Tanner English, (10) Scott Cook, (11) David Brannon, (12) Kasey Hall, (13) Mark Fields, (14) Dustin Neat, (15) David Gentry, (16) Jeff Watson, (17) Mark Haddon, (18) Dean Carpenter, (19) David Seibers, (20) Steven Ashby, (21) Jeremy Taylor, (22) Jerry Ashley, (23) Brad Skinner, (24) Tyler Landers, Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Cook, 13.128 seconds. Heat race winners: Posey, Putnam, Morris, S. Cook. Consolation winner: Gentry.

Correction: Fixes identity of Dustin Neat sted Brad Neat.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728