Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Rocky Top Raceway

Chinn outduels Carrier for Rocky Top victory

April 25, 2009, 6:45 am
From track reports
Wayne Chinn earned $4,000 at Rocky Top Raceway. (Jim Ellis)
Wayne Chinn earned $4,000 at Rocky Top Raceway. (Jim Ellis)

COAL GROVE, Ohio (April 24) — Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio, won a race-swapping duel with Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., at Rocky Top Raceway to capture the Buckeye Nationals. Chinn earned $4,000 in the unsanctioned 40-lapper.

Carrier led the first 14 laps before Chinn took control on the 15th lap. Chinn led through lap 30 before Carrier slipped ahead to lead lap 31. Chinn went back out front on the 32nd lap and led the rest of the way, but it wasn't easy.

Heading for the white flag, Carrier pulled alongside the leading Chinn. Carrier stayed right with him into the final corner, but got too deep, getting into the guardrail and nearly flipping before recovering to finish fifth.

Fast qualifier Jackie Boggs of Grayson, Ky., last year's Rocky Top Raceway Late Model champion, finished second followed by Kenny Christy of Vanceburg, Ky., Greggie Oliver of Jackson, Ohio, and Carrier.

Notes: Chinn drives a Rayburn Race Car sponsored by Erwin Chrysler-Jeep and Sugar Creek Packing. ... The track drew its biggest crowd since 2007. ... Rick Combs of Cincinnati, Ohio, also competed but his order in the finish wasn't available. ... The next special at Rocky Top is scheduled for May 15. The second annual GCP Engines Twin 30s pays $2,000-to-win for the Super Late Models and $1,000-to-win for modifieds.

Buckeye Nationals presented by Les Boggs: (1) Wayne Chinn, (2) Jackie Boggs, (3) Kenny Christy, (4) Greggie Oliver, (5) Eddie Carrier Jr., (6) Duane Chamberlain, (7) Arnie Fields, (8) Tre Martin, (9) Jason Edge, (10) Nick Bocook, (11) Carl Dillow II, (12) Jacob Curnutte, (13) Tim Dohm, (14) Rod Conley, (15) Harold Redman Jr., (16) Josh Bocook, (17) Jeff Davis. Fast qualifier (among 18 cars): Boggs, 14.539 seconds. Heat race winners: Boggs, Dohm, Carrier.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728