Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Paducah International Raceway

Feger dominates Paducah's USA World 50

August 25, 2012, 7:45 am
From series and track reports

PADUCAH, Ky. (Aug. 24) — Pole-starting Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., raced to victory Friday in the USA World 50 to earn $5,000 on the MARS DIRTcar Series at Paducah International Raceway.

Feger led all the way at the 3/8-mile oval for his third career victory on the Missouri-based circuit and first since back-to-back triumphs on Aug. 7-8, 2009.

Home-track driver Tanner English of Benton, Ky., finished second over six-time series champ Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who held the second spot most of the way. Eighth-starting Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., and Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., rounded out the top five finishers. Brandon Sheppard started outside the front row in his own No. B5, but he wasn’t around at the finish.

MARS points leader Jesse Stovall struggled with an ill-handling car and finished 11th.

Notes: Feger's Pierce Race Car is powered by a Rhyne Competition Engine and sponsored by Chizmark Larson Insurance, Pro Tire & Automotive, Jaxon Chase Steel Detailing, Box Seat Motorsports, Mulligans and Stearn Ironworks. ... Feger is the second Illinois winner on the MARS circuit in 2012; Michael Kloos of Trenton, Ill., won May 31 at Highland (Ill.) Speedway. ... Feger’s previous MARS victories came at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill., and Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, Mo. ... Feger’s previous victory at Paducah came on Sept. 12, 2008, in Northern Allstars competition. ... Among drivers failing to make the USA World 50 feature lineup: Lee Thomason, Chris Shelton, Todd Hall, Tim Lance and Kevin Cole. ... MARS competitors head northwest to Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on Saturday for another $5,000-to-win event.

USA World 50: (1) Jason Feger, (2) Tanner English, (3) Terry Phillips, (4) Brian Shirley, (5) Shannon Babb, (6) Terry English, (7) Tim Brown, (8) Billy Moyer Jr., (9) Bobby Pierce, (10) Randy Sellars, (11) Jesse Stovall, (12) Dane Dacus, (13) Tony Jackson Jr., (14) Justin Asplin, (15) Shawn Knuckles, (16) Jack Sullivan, (17) Jason Riggs, (18) Jeff Walston, (19) Leroy Johnson, (20) Brandon Sheppard, (21) Jarryd Holshouser, (22) Kyle Beard, (23) Credence Mott. Fast qualifier (among 35 cars): Feger, 15.465 seconds. Heat race winners: Feger, Sheppard, Tanner English, Phillips. Consolation winners: Dacus, Asplin. Provisional starters: Johnson, Holshouser, Knuckles.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728