Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Richmond Raceway

Jewell grabs $3,000 Richmond victory

September 3, 2011, 11:30 pm
From series reports
Mike Jewell takes the checkers at Richmond. (Jimmy Pittman)
Mike Jewell takes the checkers at Richmond. (Jimmy Pittman)

RICHMOND, Ky. (Sept. 3) — Former track champion Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, Ind., earned $3,000 Saturday at Richmond Raceway in the Stars & Stripes 40, a race co-sanctioned by the STARS Volunteer Racing Series and Midwest Dirt Racing League. | Slideshow

Jewell battled grabbed the lead from VRS points leader Ross White of Knoxville, Tenn., on lap five and later survived a lengthy battle with Tyrel Todd of Eubank, Ky., before taking control just past the halfway of the 40-lapper.

Todd followed Jewell to the finish in the second position while Aaron Hatton of Mount Sterling, Ky., recovered from an early spin to finish third. Jason Barrett of Waco, Ky., was fourth with Timmy Yeager of Harrodsburg, Ky., rounding out the top five.

Notes: Jewell’s MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine with sponsorship from Southern Indiana Rock Drilling, MPC Motorsports, Morgan Foods and Rick Julian Towing. ... Jewell became the eighth different winner in eight events for the MDRL tour and the seventh different winner in seven races on the VRS series. ... Joey Daniel of Liberty, Ky., was disqualified and suspended indefinitely from STARS-sanctioned events for unapproved conduct during the main event. ... The VRS tour will return to action Sept. 16 at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga., followed by Sept. 17 event at Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway. ... The MDRL tour will return to action Oct. 8 with its finale at Southern Ohio Speedway in Wheelersburg, Ohio.

Stars & Stripes 40: (1) Mike Jewell, (2) Tyrel Todd, (3) Aaron Hatton, (4) Jason Barrett, (5) Timmy Yeager, (6) Dennis Roberson, (7) Jimmy Robinson, (8) Russ Gabbert, (9) Donald Barrett, (10) Tim Tungate, (11) Terry Tomlinson, (12) Buzz Williams, (13) Tommy Carlton, (14) Mick Sansom, (15) Doug Smith, (16) Clint Vaughn, (17) Anthony Reams, (18) Jeff Watson, (19) Michael Chilton, (20) Bobby Carrier Jr., (21) Joey Daniel. Did note start: James Smith. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Hatton. Heat race winners: Hatton, Ross White, Jewell.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728