Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Paducah International Raceway

Babb captures Paducah's World 50

August 27, 2011, 5:37 am
From series reports

PADUCAH, Ky. (Aug. 26) — Setting up a chance for a tripleheader sweep on the MARS DIRTcar Series, Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., captured Friday's World 50 at Paducah International Raceway for a $5,000 payday.

A poor restart by race-long leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., allowed the fifth-starting Babb to take command on the 28th lap and he raced to the checkers for the second times in as many nights on the Missouri-based MARS circuit. Babb, who earned $5,000 on Thursday at Highland (Ill.) Speedway, will try to complete the weekend sweep Saturday at I-55 Raceway in Pevely, Mo.

Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., finished second at Paducah with former track champion Terry English of nearby Benton in third. Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., and Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., rounded out the top five. The polesitting Shirley ended up 14th in the 23-car field.

Notes: Babb's Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Petroff Towing, Donley Trucking and B Auto Parts. ... Babb has 13 victories overall in 2011. ... He has three career MARS victories. ... Six-time MARS champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., winless on the series in 2011, took a provisional starting spot and finished 21st, two spots behind teammate Jeremy Payne. ... I-55 Raceway puts up $5,000 for Saturday's MARS winner.

World 50: (1) Shannon Babb, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Terry English, (4) Billy Moyer, (5) Jesse Stovall, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Tim Brown, (8) Dane Dacus, (9) Brad Looney, (10) Jason McBride, (11) Tanner English, (12) John Tindal, (13) R.C. Whitwell, (14) Brian Shirley, (15) Scott James, (16) Kevin Cole, (17) Rodney Melvin, (18) Jarryd Holshouser, (19) Jeremy Payne, (20) Dennis Erb Jr., (21) Terry Phillips, (22) Tony Vancil, (23) Jeff Walston. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Shirley, James, Dacus, Feger. Consolation winners: Melvin, Erb. Provisional starters: Whitwell, Phillips, Vancil.

Correction: Removes incorrect information about cars driven by Terry English and Kevin Cole.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728