Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lucky 7 Speedway

Carrier earns $5,000 at Coal Miners Classic

August 9, 2011, 2:19 pm
From track and series reports

COLSON, Ky. (Aug. 6) — Native Kentuckian Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., earned $5,000 for an ADRA-sanctioned victory at Lucky 7 Speedway's Coal Miners Classic. Carrier outdueled front-row starter Josh McGuire of Grayson, Ky., and Mark Sturgill of Pound, Va., for the 50-lap victory.

"The longer we went green the better my tires got," the third-starting Carrier said in victory lane. "After the cautions it took a lap get going again, but once we did, I could go back to the front."

McGuire, who fielded the backup car of Brandon Fouts, came back to finish second after an early flat tire while Chris Combs of nearby Whitesburg, Ky., finished third. Raymond Nichols and Stephen Breeding rounded out the top five and 20th-starting Kenneth Howell was sixth in earning hard-charger honors.

Sturgill took turns with Carrier up front until a turn-three spin in the late stages knocked him from contention. He ended up ninth in a race that lasted well past midnight because of delays that included problem with electronic scoring.

Notes: Carrier's Grover Motorsports-owned Rocket Chassis has a Grover Racing Engine and sponsorship from Engines Inc., Cox Wrecker Service and Blue Ridge Machinery and Tools. ... Fog hampered the action, too. ... Jamie Trimble stepped in to manually score the event after problems with electronic scoring. ... Twenty-four drivers from five states entered. ... The track posted an apology on its Facebook page for the late night, scoring issues and dusty racing surface. ... Next up for the first-year ADRA tour is a $2,000-to-win event on Sept. 9 at Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg, Ohio. It's the last of four races scheduled this season.

Coal Miners Classic: (1) Eddie Carrier Jr., (2) Josh McGuire, (3) Chris Combs, (4) Raymond Nichols, (5) Stephen Breeding, (6) Kenneth Howell, (7) Jack Fields, (8) Bobby Carrier Jr., (9) Mark Sturgill, (10) Anthony Adams, (11) Dennis Barton, (12) Randy Fields, (13) Oscar McCown, (14) David Webb, (15) Brandon Fouts, (16) Jarrod Breeding, (17) Paul Harris, (18) Shon Flanary, (19) Paul Harris, (20) Shannon Thornsberry, (21) Mikey Grubb. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): McGuire. Heat race winners: McGuire, Sturgill, E. Carrier.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728