Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Jackson Motor Speedway

Jimmy Cliburn picks up $2,500 MSCCS victory

August 7, 2011, 2:02 pm
From track reports

BYRAM, Miss. (Aug. 6) — Jimmy Cliburn of Star, Miss., rallied from the sixth row Saturday at Jackson Motor Speedway to capture the first Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series victory of his career. Cliburn, who led just the final three laps, pocketed $2,500 for the victory.

Polesitter David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., finished second followed by fellow front-row starter and hometown driver Brooks Strength. Chris Wall of Holden, La., advanced nine positions to finish fourth and Cliff Williams of Star rounded out the top five.

Strength grabbed the lead at the outset, but a four-car tangle among Scott Creel, Rodney Wing, Kody Barber and Doug Sanchagrin in turn three quickly halted the action. Creel and Sanchagrin were knocked out of the race.

Strength got the jump again on the next start with fast qualifier Klint Byars and Breazeale giving chase. After a few minor cautions, Strength stayed in control, pulling away midway through the 50-lapper. Jimmy Cliburn, who started 12th, broke into the top five by the midpoint and with 15 laps remaining was in a battle for second with Breazeale.

Cliburn got the second spot and with eight laps remaining was on the rear deck of Strength. When the frontrunners came upon the slower car of Steve Bryan with three laps remaining, Cliburn took evasive action to avoid contact, taking the lead with Breazeale dropping Strength to third. Cliburn held on the final few laps for this victory.

Notes: Jimmy Cliburn's No. 88 GRT Race Car is sponsored by Cliburn Performance and Cliburn Tank Lines. ... Rodney Wing subbed in the Paul's Body Shop-sponsored Trak Star No. 28 normally driven by Jonathan Parr. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Edmond Jenkins, Jeffery Lawson and Hoy Spikes. ... Next up for MSCCS competitors is a recently scheduled Aug. 20 event at Whynot (Miss.) Motorsports Park, the second-to-last event on the series schedule.

MSCCS @ Jackson: (1) Jimmy Clibun, (2) David Breazeale, (3) Brooks Strength, (4) Chris Wall, (5) Cliff Williams, (6) Klint Byars, (7) Jason Cliburn, (8) Brad Banes, (9) Leon Henderson, (10) Steve Bryan, (11) Rodney Wing, (12) Keith Miller, (13) Eric Cooley, (14) Chad Thrash, (15) Sid Scarbrough, (16) Marlon Wild, (17) Kody Barber, (18) George Paul, (19) Mickey Trosclair, (20) Scott Creel, (21) Doug Sanchagrin, (22) Jeremy Broadus. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Byars. Dash winner: Breazeale. Consolation race winners: Creel, Wing. Provisional starters: Wild, Trosclair.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728