Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Hollingsworth scores MSCCS victory at Whynot

July 31, 2011, 8:01 am
From series reports
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth raises a triumphant visit at Whyhnot. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth raises a triumphant visit at Whyhnot. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (July 30) – Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., started seventh in Saturday night's Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series event at Whynot Motorsports Park and advanced forward on his way to scoring his first series victory of 2011 in the tour's third trip of the season to quarter-mile oval.

Hollingsworth earned $2,500 for his second victory at Whynot this year. Chris Wall of Springfield, La., followed Hollingsworth to the finish in the second position with defending series champion David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., third. Steve Bryan of Collinsville, Miss., finished fourth with Keith Miller of Sumrall, Miss., fifth.

Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., started from the pole of the 40-lap race, but failed to finish. He was credited with a 17th-place finish.

Notes: Hollingsworth drives a Warrior Race Car for Flynn Motorsports with sponsored by Waddle Trucking and Kelley Electrical Contractors. ... The victory is Hollinsworth’s third MSCCS win of his career. The previous two were back-to-back triumphs last year at Jackson Motor Speedway in Byram, Miss. ... His previous Whynot victory came in a $2,000 PRO Dirt Car Series event July 2. ... Just nine of the race’s 22 starters were running at the finish. ... Wall’s runner-up finish follows his $5,000 PRO victory Friday night at North Alabama Speedway in Tuscumbia, Ala. ... Wall also won the tour’s previous event at Whynot on April 23. Byars won the other series event at the east Mississippi dirt track. ... The series returns to action with a doubleheader weekend Aug. 5-6 that includes a $2,000-to-win event Friday night at Hattiesburg (Miss.) Motorsports Park and a $2,500-to-win event Saturday at Jackson.

MSCCS @ Whynot: (1) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (2) Chris Wall, (3) David Breazeale, (4) Steve Bryan, (5) Keith Miller, (6) Larry Murphy, (7) Tim Dees, (8) Leon Henderson (9) Chris Hoomes, (10) Anthony Burroughs, (11) Eric Cooley, (12) Jeremy Broadus, (13) Scott Creel, (14) Wiley Williams, (15) Kody Barber, (16) Neil Baggett, (17) Klint Byars, (18) Chad Thrash, (19) Rodney Wing, (20) Brooks Strength, (21) Jason Cliburn, (22) Clint Logan. Fast qualifier (among 22 cars): Byars. Dash winner: Byars. Consolation race winners: Burroughs, Breazeale.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728