Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Devil's Bowl Speedway

Culp gets SUPR victory at Devil's Bowl

July 17, 2011, 9:45 am
By Bryan Wimberley
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

MESQUITE, Texas (July 16) — Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., earned his second series victory of the season Saturday at Devil's Bowl Speedway. Culp's O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing Series victory paid $2,000. Allen Tippen of Minden, La., was second followed by Minden's Jeff Chanler, Kennith Crowe of Port Allen, La., and Jason Ingalls of Longview, Texas,

Culp started inside the second row and ran third early in the event, chasing Chanler and Tippen. The three frontrunners caught traffic after just seven laps, and Culp went to work. On the 13th lap, Tippen went past Chanler to grab the lead, and Culp followed Tippen to grab second.

Culp went to the high side a lap later to make the winning pass on Tippen, then handled lapped traffic the rest of the way to win the caution-free main 25-lapper.

"Tippen got Chanler on the outside and I got by there, too. Lapped traffic played into our hands tonight, although I have been snakebit all year by lapped traffic," Culp said. "It is good to finally win one with the traffic going your way and getting the monkey off my back.

"I tried to stay concentrated on hitting my marks, it can change so quick on you and three laps later it could turn around with you running back in fourth or something. You just have to take what you can get and be patient and see how it unfolds."

Ingalls ran into trouble at the checkers when he Bagley couldn't avoid the slowing, disabled car of B.J. Robinson. The hard impact joked the Ingalls car briefly onto two wheels as Robinson's car came to rest near the frontstretch wall. Both drivers were able to walk awawy from the damaged cars.

Notes: Culp's Trak-Star Race Car is powered by a Wall 2 Wall Performance Engine and sponsored by Miller Motorsports, Culp's Automotive, J&J Motorsports, Beau Taylor Technologies, BA Motorsports and Graduate Sales. .... The checkered flag dropped on the caution-free, 10-minute feature at 11:13 p.m. ... Elvent of 20 starters finished on the lead lap. ... Track points leader Wendall Bolden of Greenville, Texas, was eighth, best among Devil's Bowl regulars; Bolden has won four of 11 weekly events at the track. ... Ronny Adams of Diana, Texas, was eligible for a provisional spot in the feature, but he scratched with a broken crankshaft. ... Drivers not making the feature lineup: Charles Armstrong, Charles Armstrong III, Marcus Baxter, Jim Bryant, Darren Ellis, Paul Joyner, John Klenzing, Skip O'Neal, Troy Tindall and Larry White. ... Next up for SUPR is a July 23 event at I-30 Speedway near Little Rock, Ark.

O'Reilly SUPR @ Devil's Bowl: (1) Timothy Culp, (2) Allen Tippen, (3) Jeff Chanler, (4) Kennith Crowe, (5) Jason Ingalls, (6) Morgan Bagley, (7) Doug Begnaud, (8) Wendall Bolden, (9) Tom Lorenz, (10) Lee Davis, (11) Chris Holley, (12) Jay Brunson, (13) Jody Prince, (14) B.J. Robinson, (15) Patrik Daniel, (16) Bubba Mullins, (17) Johnny Philpot Jr., (18) Max Eddie Thomas, (19) Steven Whiteaker Jr., (20) Rob Litton. Scratched: Ronny Adams. Heat race winners: Culp, Mullins, Tippen, Bagley. Consolation winner: Whiteaker. Provisional starter: Ronny Adams.

Correction: Fixes Ingalls sted Bagley in last-lap incident with Robinson.

O'Reilly SUPR points

(Through July 16)
1. Morgan Bagley - 1,847
2. Timothy Culp - 1,609
3. Allen Tippen - 1,542
4. Kevin Sitton - 1,381
5. Rob Litton - 1,212
6. Chris Holley - 1,168
7. Jody Prince - 1,133
8. Jeff Chanler - 1,101
9. B.J. Robinson - 1,066
10. Ronny Adams - 932
Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728